Track Solo-ing

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
jackvanderlee
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Track Solo-ing

Post by jackvanderlee »

I'm a DP newbie... Or actually, due to health reasons, after so many years I'm back in sound recording and DP is still my favourite. Lots has changed for the better with DP8. But.. in one of the previous versions, there was a 'solo' function in the tracks window. Hitting this button made a track play, well... solo. Not anymore. It's such a basic need: Playing a track solo 'on the fly'.

Yes, I DID read the user guide. I went over the 'Soloing Tracks' paragraph numerous times, with the explanation about the very confusing Blue, Grey and Orange status. Maybe I'm just plain stupid, but I haven't been able to make it work the way I want to. Meaning: Having all tracks playing, simply hit ONE button to hear one track solo, then hit the same button to hear ALL tracks again.

Who can help me out?
Thx so much.
blueslash
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Track Solo-ing

Post by blueslash »

Maybe I'm missunderstanding your question, but as long as you don't enable the Solo button, the big "S" to the left of the preroll button, solo buttons in the Mixer window work like normal.

When grouped you can solo any track in the group to solo the group or hold G to bypass the grouping and solo just the track you chose. Mute works the same.

This doesn't work in the Sequence or Tracks windows as there is no Solo or Mute buttons, just Play which is an On or Off state. Straaaange :shock:
mikehalloran
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Track Solo-ing

Post by mikehalloran »

This applies to Audio. MIDI has additional commands but this will get you started.