It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:56 am
   
Text Size

9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby kdm » Sun Aug 30, 2015 8:42 am

I have a Techlink reported with this, but want to ask if anyone else has tested this (OSX or Win):

IR import into ProVerb is supposed to be fixed on Win in 9.01, but isn't. Some IRs can be imported, but others can not (with no differentiation that I can find). And when they are, they simply import and disappear - no access to the "User" section of the IR list. Only factor IRs are available.

Some attempts to drag/drop an IR into Proverb result in DP locking up/crashing. I haven't found a pattern to any specific file type. It does not accept quad or 5.1 files that I've tested so far, though I get the impression it is supposed to. But, surround aside, with no access to the User IR folder (Shared and Project are inaccessible as well), even stereo imports are useless, when they work.

Anyone having success importing and recalling user IRs?

All of my imports are going into user/AppData/Roaming/MOTU/Plug-ins/ProVerb/User, but Proverb isn't reading that folder. I've tried setting my own folder in the ProgramData/MOTU/Plugins/ProVerb/ProVerb Data.bundle/Factor v05 folder, but it doesn't recognize that either.

So I opened up the Node.xml file and sure enough, all folders are listed there, and apparently not auto-updated. An interesting comment from a dev there as well on the branch ids, and given how they are listed, I'm a bit concerned this may never work. I copied my user presets folder into the Factor folder and added an entry into the Node.xml, but DP still doesn't recognize it.
Last edited by kdm on Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
kdm
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby FMiguelez » Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:02 am

The other day I was reading a thread here in MOTUNation that talked about this.

They discovered that a lot of people's problems came from trying to load stereo files to mono instantiations, and viceversa.
Are you sure you're dragging the correct format to the correct Proverb kind?

What audio format are your IRs? Sit? WAV?

I got a few IRs the other day, and I'm planning on trying them with Proverb tonight. I'll report if I find any problems like yours.
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.10.3 / DP 9.02
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 7346
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby FMiguelez » Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:04 am

Ha! Sorry. I just saw you're on Windows...
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.10.3 / DP 9.02
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 7346
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby kdm » Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:16 am

I did test with both stereo and 5.1 instances, and some stereo files do show up in the stereo instance. They will import in a 5.1 instance, but not show up, which makes sense technically of course, but doesn't make sense as Proverb is listed as supporting stereo to surround (I typically don't use stereo-surround, but I can't get it to recognize 5.1 IRs for now...).

All of the Samplicity IRs are dual stereo or quad format, and ProVerb doesn't support split files. And I can't figure out what format it does support to combine IRs into a single stereo, or single 5.1 file.
kdm
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby bayswater » Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:21 am

I've had these problems (on a Mac). In the end, I concluded that Proverb/DP is happy with some IR files and not others, and there is no obvious difference between the two. I usually load a lot of them at once, figure out which file causes the problem (using binary selection), omit those, and everything is fine.

Another thing I found helps is to keep all the IR files in a folder that is not connected with DP. When you want to add a new IR file, add it to this folder, rather than loading it into Proverb. Now delete the library of IRs that DP accesses entirely, and then reload the entire expanded set into Proverb. This forces a reindexing, and seems to avoid problems with some IR files. Another advantage of this method is that it is a lot easier to manage the folder structure of the IR files in the OS file manager than in DP.
2009 iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07/9.02/9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Logic 10.3.2, Scarlett 18i8
2011 MBP 16G DP 9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Lexicon Alpha
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 8164
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby stubbsonic » Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:09 pm

Is there a requirement for ProVerb to have confirmed output assignments that match the IR's channel format?
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2526
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby kdm » Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:55 pm

I believe it does. I did find that user imported stereo IRs only appear in stereo instances of Proverb. This isn't inconsistent with DP's general approach to only enabling plugins when there is a valid audio path all the way through. A bit confusing when coming from another DAW, but not a big deal.

The main issue now seems to be figuring how what file formats it supports (beyond channel width). I have a couple that will lockup DP when dragging them into ProVerb - hence, they have been removed. So far I can't find any 5.1 IRs that work and ProVerb doesn't seem to support quad.

Even so, I do have a stereo instance up and running in my template, with Valhalla VRoom for ER - works great.
kdm
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby dewdman42 » Mon Nov 16, 2015 2:35 pm

I experienced some lockup problems also while trying to import some IR's. Did you ever get to the bottom of what specifically about certain IR's will cause that to happen?

I also want to point out for anyone listening, I was able to drag the Apple folder full of IR's for Logic Pro's Space Designer, and Proverb imported them all, including the *.SDIR files which comprise many of them. So anyone with Logic or MainStage can add those IR's to DP too this way it would seem.
12 Core MacPro 3.33ghz, 10.11, 2408mk3, 1296, MTP/AV, DP9, Finale, Notion, MuseScore, Overture, Logic, Mainstage, IK Multimedia, Omnisphere, Recabinet, JamVox, LePou, Scarbee, Geist, Etch, Jamstix, StevenSlateDrums, TruePianos, AddictiveKeys, Superior Drums, Kirk Hunter, GForce, OPXPro, Stringer, Cobalt, Harmor, AAS, Komplete9, B4, GPO, KorgLegacy, RapturePro, Z3TA, Melodyne, Nomad British, S-gear, MVintageRotary, VKFX, K2500R, XV-5080, MP9000, EX-8000, S-90, Vox Tonelab, Jupiter-80
dewdman42
 
Posts: 765
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Park City, UT
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby dewdman42 » Mon Nov 16, 2015 3:55 pm

FMiguelez wrote:They discovered that a lot of people's problems came from trying to load stereo files to mono instantiations, and viceversa.
Are you sure you're dragging the correct format to the correct Proverb kind?


This makes a lot of sense and I will have to test that theory later tonight. From what I can see, when Proverb imports a wav file, it is stored under the Proverb directory as separate wav files for L and R. So its definitely possible that the import routine is not smart enough to deal with importing mono IR's when you're doing it into a stereo instance of Proverb..and I guess the same true the other way around, but I will have to try to see if I can isolate this.
12 Core MacPro 3.33ghz, 10.11, 2408mk3, 1296, MTP/AV, DP9, Finale, Notion, MuseScore, Overture, Logic, Mainstage, IK Multimedia, Omnisphere, Recabinet, JamVox, LePou, Scarbee, Geist, Etch, Jamstix, StevenSlateDrums, TruePianos, AddictiveKeys, Superior Drums, Kirk Hunter, GForce, OPXPro, Stringer, Cobalt, Harmor, AAS, Komplete9, B4, GPO, KorgLegacy, RapturePro, Z3TA, Melodyne, Nomad British, S-gear, MVintageRotary, VKFX, K2500R, XV-5080, MP9000, EX-8000, S-90, Vox Tonelab, Jupiter-80
dewdman42
 
Posts: 765
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Park City, UT
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby mesayre » Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:58 am

Another thing to experiment with - I found that I had some stability and other problems with proverb if I was using an ASIO buffer size that was not an even multiple of 8 (256 samples, etc).

Doesn't seem like that would be related to the problem you're having, but might be worth trying nonetheless.
DP 9.13 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: 9.01 - Proverb IR import problems

Postby wvandyck » Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:53 pm

This is an old thread but it has provided me with solutions to a current situation.

I can confirm that mono IR (acoustic guitars or amp cabinets) do not appear in a stereo instance of Proverb or in a mono-to-stereo version.

Earlier today, I was organizing and loading IR but they were not available in the interface popup but were in the Proverb>User folder.

A quick test setup consisting of mono and stereo tracks with mono and stereo instances of Proverb revealed that all is well.

Use of a single folder of IR outside of DP works well to keep the IR sets organized vs. in the order in which single sets are loaded into DP.
The Evolution of DP: A Loose Timeline
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cnhyb6a7bhklz ... 8.pdf?dl=0

2017 2.9 GHz MPB/1TB ssd, loaded 2012 i7 quadcore Mini, OSX 10.13.1
DP 9.5.1 74138, Logic 10.3.x, Silverface Apollo Quad/TB, Track 16, K11U, ST3, Falcon, MOTIF Rack XS, MIDI guitars etc.
User avatar
wvandyck
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:07 pm
Location: South of Woonsocket
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer [Windows]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form