It is currently Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:10 pm
   
Text Size

Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby mesayre » Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:18 pm

Hey all,
Hoping you can help me out with this - sometime in the spring I started having a strange error with DP 8.07. If I load a video, then click on the little triangle menu to do something like change the size or import audio, it doesn't open, and I get a popup that just says "Digital Performer has encountered an error". There is no error code or further information. Right clicking on the video window, which should open the same menu, does nothing at all, not even generate an error. It seems to happen with every video file I can find, regardless of format. But, the 32-bit version of DP does not suffer from this problem. The aforementioned menu works just fine with the very same videos if I open in 32-bit. These videos also play just fine in Sonar Platinum 64-bit and Pro Tools 11.

I had a techlink going with MOTU the last time this happened, and they concluded that it was probably a corruption specific to my system, and said I should re-install windows. That did fix it for a time, but now it's come back, so I'm either very unlucky or something more significant is at play.

Here are things I've done to troubleshoot:

Moving the video file to the same folder as the project.
Deleting Prefs.
Reinstalling DP.
Updating Quicktime.
Rolling back to a previous version of DP.
Uninstalling K-lite codec pack.
Upgrade video driver.
Full Windows install


The only thing that did work was a full OS re-install. So I suspect that means there's a windows update that is mucking things up. Why this would be unique to my system, I do not know. I'm happy to try to research the issue, but I don't even have an error code to work with. I've poked my head into the 'event viewer' to try and find any telling error logs, but I can't find much from DP.

Anyone had an experience with this, or any tips for diagnosing the problem? I really want to work in DP, but no 64-bit just kills me. Thanks!




System info:

Win 7x64
Intel i7-2630QM
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 460M
16 GB memory
DP 8.07 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby mesayre » Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:34 pm

I'm still having this problem in DP8 on Windows 10. Trying DP9 didn't fix it either.

Guys at MOTU are telling me my only recourse is to wipe the system and install things one at a time. Major bummer.

Anyone else seen any bizarre errors like this, or have a troubleshooting tip?

Thanks,
Mike
DP 8.07 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby Scorer » Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:14 pm

did you ever figure out what caused this error to occur ?
Scorer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:45 pm

Not on a PC here so can't help with system troubleshooting. What I am wondering (and I don't think it should really matter but I'll throw it out there) is if the sample rate of the videos are at one rate (48k or 44.1k) and the sample rate of the session is another.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.3; DP 9.1; Track 16 F'n 25 (brain dead Finale)

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby Scorer » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:17 pm

I've tested different sample rate settings and same result. I installed DP 9.12 on two different Windows machines, using the same video files, none of them exhibit this behavior. One is also running Win 8.1 x64 - which is what this production machine here runs.

Cannot re-install the entire OS :-(

I though maybe a plugin is causing the issue so I disabled all plugins, and also temporarily renamed all plugin directories to make sure they do not get scanned... did not help.
Scorer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:52 pm

But it's only in DP that this happens? If so, then I would firstly, reinstall DP and perhaps try a different (earlier) version.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.3; DP 9.1; Track 16 F'n 25 (brain dead Finale)

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby Scorer » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:28 am

yeah tried that, re-installed DP 9.12 and then after that also tried 9.02... same thing. Like I wrote earlier, this only happens on this one production machine.

I can load a video, and even play it, but when I click the little flyout menu in the video window a message pops up "DP has encountered an error". Right clicking on the video does nothing.

on 2 other machines that I've tried DP 9.12 does not behave like this and movies/videos work just fine.
Scorer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby terrybritton » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:40 am

Scorer wrote:yeah tried that, re-installed DP 9.12 and then after that also tried 9.02... same thing. Like I wrote earlier, this only happens on this one production machine.

I can load a video, and even play it, but when I click the little flyout menu in the video window a message pops up "DP has encountered an error". Right clicking on the video does nothing.

on 2 other machines that I've tried DP 9.12 does not behave like this and movies/videos work just fine.


Are they all using Nvidia graphics cards? Nvidia drivers have been acting up for me lately -- had to do the custom install and uncheck the two 3D items AND the HD Audio driver, checking the box at the bottom that said "perform a clean install". Only on one machine did I have issues (the Dell, which otherwise is magnificent).

My issues were MIDI and Audio ones, though.

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.2 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation, Korg Poly800
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Alesis QX49; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/tbritton33
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby Scorer » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:28 pm

Hi Terry,

when you say "custom, clean install" are you referring to the Nvidia drivers or to the DP installation ?

Thanks.
Scorer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby terrybritton » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:31 pm

Scorer wrote:Hi Terry,

when you say "custom, clean install" are you referring to the Nvidia drivers or to the DP installation ?

Thanks.


The Nvidia installation.

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.2 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation, Korg Poly800
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Alesis QX49; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/tbritton33
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby Scorer » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:46 pm

thanks, I'll try that
Scorer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby Scorer » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:04 pm

I updated the Nvidia drivers with a clean install, only installed drivers nothing else. does not help.

this particular production machine has 4 x GPU - 1x Quadro and 3x GTX. I removed the Quadro from the system just to see whether that would help, it did not.

The other two machines that I tested DP 9.12 on use either an ATI GPU or also a Nvidia GPU. No issues there.

I think it's weird that on this machine here, you can add a video/movie in DP, you can play the movie (picture works with sound), but when trying to access the flyout menu to change the video settings, it then throws this unspecified error.

I originally wanted to stream video from a different machine anyways, but since MMC still seems to not work with DP, I wanted to give the internal video engine a shot... :-/
Scorer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:19 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Nondescript Video error, 64-bit only

Postby terrybritton » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:05 am

That is such a bummer when only one machine in your setup seems to have some buggy thing you cannot figure out! It could be one of those "chipset" issues. I read somewhere very recently of someone updating their BIOS and having that miraculously fix a long-standing issue they had had.

Well, at least you have a backup plan!

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.2 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation, Korg Poly800
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Alesis QX49; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/tbritton33
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows


Return to Digital Performer [Windows]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form