It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:52 pm
   
Text Size

New error with DP9.13 update

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on Windows.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [Windows] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

New error with DP9.13 update

Postby PoliticalBonobo » Fri May 19, 2017 12:06 pm

Since updating to 9.13, I've been getting this error whenever I save a project (which is often). I've been selecting 'Overwrite' but would like this to stop coming up. It looks like DP is doing some writing to the file after saving?
Image
DP9.13 64bit, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, UA Apollo Quad FireWire interface, Desktop: Intel i7 5820K at 4.0ghz, MSI X99A Gaming 7 mobo, 32gb RAM (DDR4 at 2133 mhz), MSI GTX 960 2GD5T 2GB, 512GB Samsung 950 Pro m.2 SSD (project/system drive). VEP 6
PoliticalBonobo
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat May 20, 2017 7:58 am

I don't know PCs and would definitely call MOTU or start a techlink. Is that a warning from the OS or from DP? It doesn't look like a DP warning box.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.6; DP 9.5; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 24029
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby PoliticalBonobo » Sat May 20, 2017 9:14 am

Good question; I assumed it was from DP. I'll try calling MOTU again. They must've been swamped on Friday when I called.
DP9.13 64bit, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, UA Apollo Quad FireWire interface, Desktop: Intel i7 5820K at 4.0ghz, MSI X99A Gaming 7 mobo, 32gb RAM (DDR4 at 2133 mhz), MSI GTX 960 2GD5T 2GB, 512GB Samsung 950 Pro m.2 SSD (project/system drive). VEP 6
PoliticalBonobo
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby terrybritton » Sat May 20, 2017 12:59 pm

PoliticalBonobo wrote:Since updating to 9.13, I've been getting this error whenever I save a project (which is often). I've been selecting 'Overwrite' but would like this to stop coming up. It looks like DP is doing some writing to the file after saving?
Image



I've suddenly started getting this in Windows as well. I just hit overwrite, but it seems strange that some "another application" is making changes to the file! (I doubt that is true, though - might be the auto-save is throwing a strange trigger now.) (A timestamp mismatch, perhaps???)

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby HCMarkus » Sat May 20, 2017 1:12 pm

NSA? :shock:
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 6158
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby terrybritton » Sat May 20, 2017 1:20 pm

HCMarkus wrote:NSA? :shock:


HCMarkus, you know how to tap into my greatest fears!

(I have this nagging suspicion they are fierce music critics, for some reason...)

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby AndrewMcAfee » Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:45 pm

I started having the same issue with 9.13 Update. It does not happen with every save, and I cannot identify a pattern for what might be triggering it. I simply select Overwrite.
AndrewMcAfee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:42 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby PoliticalBonobo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:03 am

I just submitted a techlink with MOTU. I'll update here.
DP9.13 64bit, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, UA Apollo Quad FireWire interface, Desktop: Intel i7 5820K at 4.0ghz, MSI X99A Gaming 7 mobo, 32gb RAM (DDR4 at 2133 mhz), MSI GTX 960 2GD5T 2GB, 512GB Samsung 950 Pro m.2 SSD (project/system drive). VEP 6
PoliticalBonobo
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby mesayre » Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:58 pm

I have also had this issue. I think (but I'm not certain) that it's only happening with projects that I began before upgrading to DP9.

I'll be interested to hear what MOTU says. Thanks for the updates.
DP 9.13 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby terrybritton » Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:59 pm

Could this be caused by having Cuemix open? I closed that and the notifications went away.

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby PoliticalBonobo » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:04 am

terrybritton wrote:Could this be caused by having Cuemix open? I closed that and the notifications went away.

Terry


Not in my case; I don't have Cuemix installed. But maybe similar software, like UAD Console?
DP9.13 64bit, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, UA Apollo Quad FireWire interface, Desktop: Intel i7 5820K at 4.0ghz, MSI X99A Gaming 7 mobo, 32gb RAM (DDR4 at 2133 mhz), MSI GTX 960 2GD5T 2GB, 512GB Samsung 950 Pro m.2 SSD (project/system drive). VEP 6
PoliticalBonobo
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby mesayre » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:34 am

I don't use CueMix or UAD, so that's probably not it.

I would guess something with Windows Defender, account permissions, or other under-the-hood chicanery, but I've already added an exclusion for DP and tried running as admin. No change.
DP 9.13 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby dfeinman » Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:10 pm

I have been having the same issue for months.
dfeinman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 12:26 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: New error with DP9.13 update

Postby Mathematics » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:26 pm

I have that problem too. I suspect it's an internal system security prosecute. I think they fixed it with the update just released.
PC, Win7, DP 9.12, i7/Xeon multi-system gigabit network, Live 9 Suite, Pro Tools, M4L, Melodyne, Waves, Wave Arts, Native Instruments, Xfer, Spectralayers 3, Vienna, EastWest, Izotope, Mackie, Yamaha, AVID, Adobe, MOTU 2408mk3, ART, Rode, Tascam, Sennheiser, dbx, Korg, Akai
Mathematics
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 4:18 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Primary DAW OS: Windows


Return to Digital Performer [Windows]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form