It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:29 pm
   
Text Size

Programming a keyboard

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on Windows.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [Windows] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

Programming a keyboard

Postby alchemydragon » Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:23 pm

Hey everyone. I am part of a stage project and the directer is wanting to know if he can use DP 9 to make his MIDI keyboard into a sound board for the SFX sounds for the show. I have come across how to do it using other programs, but the directer uses DP 9 and wants to use it. I'm not sure if I need a plugin or if the program can already do it. Thanks in advance.
alchemydragon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:18 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby daniel.sneed » Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:18 pm

Sfx sounds can be played with DP just as a tape player, or with the included mini-sampler.

To help make it clearer, what exactly do you intend to use the keyboard for?

BTW, hom many different Sfx sounds will you use for the whole show?
Will it always be a time gap between two Sfx sounds?
Or will some sounds overlap?
dAn
Shake it all over!
___
DP9.51, OS10.12.6, MacBookPro-i7-3.1Ghz-1ToSSD-16GoRam
Pianoteq, Falcon, Alchemy, Iris, BreakTweaker, Kontakt, Absynth, Reason, GPO, Miroslav
Novation 49SLmkII, Studiologic VMK161+, ControlPad, EWIusb
Blofeld, UltraNova & MiniNova,
Lexicon, Ozone, RX, Alloy, Trash, SpectraFoo, IrcamTS
JBL4326+4312sub, Behringer X-32 rack
Many mics (Tuby or not tuby? That is the question)
Many guitars, banjos, mandolins, flutes, xylos, kalimbas...
http://myspace.com/adokmusic
User avatar
daniel.sneed
 
Posts: 2089
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: France
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby stubbsonic » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:20 pm

I've used two main things for sounds in a show, a K2500 (or K2000 or K2661) where I triggered both samples & sequences from within the K2xxx (that's comparable, I suppose to using DP and some kind of sampler within DP). The K2xxx had the capability of seemlessly triggering samples on some keys and whole sequences on other keys (amazing, IMHO).

The other software I've used is Macs Cue ($20 USD)

http://www.clgizmos.com/macscue/index.html

I think it's a little long in the tooth, but it allows you to set up a cue list, have overlapping sounds, and run things quite seemlessly.

I suppose DP could work in terms of cueing chunks, and hitting play, you would have the advantage of being able to change things and not have to export things. For me, DP isn't stable enough to trust in a high-pressure situation (YMMV). Having something like MachFive, or Kontakt to trigger samples might be useful within DP or otherwise.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby daniel.sneed » Sat Jun 03, 2017 10:25 am

stubbsonic wrote:[...] I suppose DP could work in terms of cueing chunks, and hitting play, you would have the advantage of being able to change things and not have to export things. For me, DP isn't stable enough to trust in a high-pressure situation (YMMV). Having something like MachFive, or Kontakt to trigger samples might be useful within DP or otherwise.
You are right in YMMV, for I've run many shows with DP, no redundant system, crossing fingers, all has been smooth sailing until now.
I must say I focus on making things as clear and as light as possible, and rehearse ad nauseam.
BTW, one internal HD died on me 3 days before a show, got it replaced in time. Since then, I always set an external bootable clone HD. Never used it though.

I've heard of Mac Cue, but it seems to be stuck in OS Leopard...
dAn
Shake it all over!
___
DP9.51, OS10.12.6, MacBookPro-i7-3.1Ghz-1ToSSD-16GoRam
Pianoteq, Falcon, Alchemy, Iris, BreakTweaker, Kontakt, Absynth, Reason, GPO, Miroslav
Novation 49SLmkII, Studiologic VMK161+, ControlPad, EWIusb
Blofeld, UltraNova & MiniNova,
Lexicon, Ozone, RX, Alloy, Trash, SpectraFoo, IrcamTS
JBL4326+4312sub, Behringer X-32 rack
Many mics (Tuby or not tuby? That is the question)
Many guitars, banjos, mandolins, flutes, xylos, kalimbas...
http://myspace.com/adokmusic
User avatar
daniel.sneed
 
Posts: 2089
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: France
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby HCMarkus » Sat Jun 03, 2017 12:12 pm

I imagine the OP wants to map the various SFX across the keyboard for easy triggering throughout the show. If this is the case, loading the sounds into a sampler is probably the way to go and will probably require a plugin like NI Kontakt or MOTU Mach5 as Stubbs suggests.

Unless there are other audio tasks required, Apple's inexpensive Main Stage software package (which includes a sampler) may be the best bet. Although I have never used DP's simple sampler, I seem to recall it does not allow sample mapping to specific keys. Please correct me if I am wrong here.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 6159
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby stubbsonic » Sat Jun 03, 2017 1:25 pm

daniel.sneed wrote:
I've heard of Mac Cue, but it seems to be stuck in OS Leopard...


I emailed the Macs Cue developer yesterday and though he admits it is overdue for a rewrite, he confirmed that it still works in the current Mac OS.

What's great about Macs Cue is you just set up your cue list and you can fire everything with the space bar. You can set up a subsequent cue that will both fade any currently running cue and start the next one. You can easily set relative levels, including some volume changes during the cue-- nice for background sound effects.

Once you get the basic flow, it's quick and easy to use and edit. I remember someone was trying to run music & sound effects from iTunes!! Ugh. I swooped in and set up Macs Cue on their rig and they were delighted at how much easier and better it was.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby alchemydragon » Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:32 pm

HCMarkus wrote:I imagine the OP wants to map the various SFX across the keyboard for easy triggering throughout the show. If this is the case, loading the sounds into a sampler is probably the way to go and will probably require a plugin like NI Kontakt or MOTU Mach5 as Stubbs suggests.

Unless there are other audio tasks required, Apple's inexpensive Main Stage software package (which includes a sampler) may be the best bet. Although I have never used DP's simple sampler, I seem to recall it does not allow sample mapping to specific keys. Please correct me if I am wrong here.


Wow! Thanks guys for the ideas. HCMarkus you are correct. The director would like to map them to the keys for manually doing it. As far as I know the main system will be a Windows machine. I'm not to happy about it since I am a Linux person, but I do recognize where Mac has it's good points.

I will look at the plugins and see if that will do it. As for how many sounds, he hasn't sent them to me yet. Building a set tends to put everything else on hold for some time. Thanks again guys. I think I will post how we go about for others if they need an idea.
alchemydragon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:18 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby mikehalloran » Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:23 pm

Windows? Oh dear...

I just stumbled on this thread. My first thought was also MainStage 3, $29.95 from the App Store. If this is a school or non-profit community production, I have an unredeemed license that I can donate to the cause (I got one with the Apple EDU bundle recently but I already have a copy). Message me for details.

Mac Cue 2 looks cool, too and there's a demo if you're not ready to spend the $20.

Both of the above do require a Mac, however. Them's the breaks sometimes.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15.1
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8799
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby bayswater » Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:39 pm

HCMarkus wrote: Although I have never used DP's simple sampler, I seem to recall it does not allow sample mapping to specific keys. Please correct me if I am wrong here.

Model12 will do, presumably, 12 sounds, because you can map sound to notes directly in the VI interface. And with multiple instances, maybe you do multiples of 12 sounds., and although it looks like the MIDI note mapping is over a fixed range perhaps each instance could be set to a separate MIDI channel.
2009 iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07/9.02/9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Logic 10.3.2, Scarlett 18i8
2011 MBP 16G DP 9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Lexicon Alpha
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 8112
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Programming a keyboard

Postby mesayre » Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:38 am

I know this is an old thread, but thought I'd throw in a couple of suggestions in case you are still looking:

For a free solution, you could try tx16: http://www.tx16wx.com/

The interface takes some getting used to, but it's very full-featured.

If you don't mind spending a little, you can try TAL Sampler. I love this one. I get lots of use out of it: https://tal-software.com/products/tal-sampler

Good luck!
Mike
DP 9.13 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows


Return to Digital Performer [Windows]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form