It is currently Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:04 pm
   
Text Size

PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby buzzsmith » Fri May 12, 2017 5:49 am

I have this...

Image

...but this comes highly recommended at about 4x the price.

Image


Dangerous Music MONITOR ST
Stereo Monitor Control system with 4 Input Sources, 3 Speaker Outputs, and Remote Control

Any users or comments?

Thanks!

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2967
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby James Steele » Fri May 12, 2017 12:13 pm

I have a Central Station too, and I like it, but then I've never had the Dangerous and at that price, probably won't. But... I have to admit... the Dangerous remote is damn sexy. That's like tech geek heaven right there!
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 12-Core 3.33, 48GB RAM, macOS 10.12.6, ATI 5770, DP 9.5, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16838
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby buzzsmith » Fri May 12, 2017 12:16 pm

James Steele wrote:I have a Central Station too, and I like it, but then I've never had the Dangerous and at that price, probably won't. But... I have to admit... the Dangerous remote is damn sexy. That's like tech geek heaven right there!

Me, too!

Just don't have an "extra" 2 grand just lyin' around!

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2967
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby James Steele » Fri May 12, 2017 12:20 pm

buzzsmith wrote:Just don't have an "extra" 2 grand just lyin' around!


Me either. And if I did, seems there's always something higher up on the priority list. Like maybe a new roof for my house! LOL

That's the sort of thing that if you had a big project come through the door you might fork out for that. BTW, I just bought the ARC 2 System on sale from IK. Looking forward to seeing how that's going to work out.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 12-Core 3.33, 48GB RAM, macOS 10.12.6, ATI 5770, DP 9.5, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16838
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby Gravity Jim » Fri May 12, 2017 1:43 pm

I haven't used any unit that sophisticated, but at first glance, I'd go with the PreSonus. I like the look of its Cue section, the extra headphone out (vital in a small room like mine), and the faceplate metering (which might come in really handy).
Jim Bordner
http://www.gravitymusic.com
MacPro 5,1 (3.33Ghz 12-core), 32g RAM, OS X 10.13 "High Sierra" • MOTU 896mk3 • MOTU DP 9.5 • Logic Pro X 10.2.5 • Waves Diamond, UAD-2, Slate Digital, Komplete, Omnisphere 2, Chipsounds, V Collection 5, Korg Legacy • Roland & Yamaha hardware • Fender, Gibson, Godin, Danelectro, Line 6, Warmoth and Cedar Creek guitars, Fuchs ODS amp
User avatar
Gravity Jim
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby mikehalloran » Fri May 12, 2017 2:04 pm

As MagicD observed, the Mackie Big Knob still rules in quite a few studios—at least in my part of California.

My needs are simpler as is my monitor controller but I think that if my needs increased, I would certainly look at the PreSonus again.

That Dangerous Music Monitor ST is certainly a sexy beast, however. I'll give it that.

When I upgraded my monitors a few months ago, I really appreciated my Radial. Having the trim pots readily available plus a polarity switch for my sub saved me time and calling for an assistant to help calibrate my setup.

Image

It developed a couple of issues shortly after I got it but a spritz of DeOxIt into the input jacks took care of that and it's worked perfectly ever since.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.5; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8700
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: PreSonus Central Station vs. Dangerous Music Monitor ST?

Postby Gravity Jim » Fri May 12, 2017 5:37 pm

That Radial looks like the shizzle. I'm not using a sub, so my deluxe choice was just a volume knob... this TC Electronics Level Pilot. I switch between monitors in DP, by choosing a different pair of outputs from the 896mk3.

This thing is so neat and so elegant... no switching obviously, but I just love it.

Image
Jim Bordner
http://www.gravitymusic.com
MacPro 5,1 (3.33Ghz 12-core), 32g RAM, OS X 10.13 "High Sierra" • MOTU 896mk3 • MOTU DP 9.5 • Logic Pro X 10.2.5 • Waves Diamond, UAD-2, Slate Digital, Komplete, Omnisphere 2, Chipsounds, V Collection 5, Korg Legacy • Roland & Yamaha hardware • Fender, Gibson, Godin, Danelectro, Line 6, Warmoth and Cedar Creek guitars, Fuchs ODS amp
User avatar
Gravity Jim
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to General Recording

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

Login Form