Time for a new audio interface?

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.
stevenew
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Time for a new audio interface?

Post by stevenew »

I have been using my original MOTU Traveler for many years, it has worked well and I have had no major issues with it but I think it is time to get something more modern, that presumably has better sound quality, better preamps etc.

Although I am still on the old Mac Pro so have no Thunderbolt, it would be good to get something that has Thunderbolt as well as USB and/or firewire, so when I eventually get a new Mac I will have a TB interface. From what I can see MOTU is one of the few offering TB/USB as most other TB interfaces seem to have TB only.

I am thinking of the new MOTU 624, if anyone has any suggestions at anything else I should look at, I am at the lower end of the market about 1000GBP which I guess is about 1000USD. The new UA looks nice but TB only, RME don't seem to do TB in the smaller interfaces.

Thanks
2018 3.2 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7 16GB. External SSD Sample Drives. macOS Monterey 12.2. MOTU 624 & 8D. Cubase Pro 11, Wavelab Pro 11, DP 9.52, DSP Quattro 5. Arturia, Gforce, iZotope, NI, Plugin Alliance, Slate, SSD5, Soniccouture, Spectrasonics, Spitfire. Novation 61 SLMKII, JBL LSR 305, Sennheiser HD600, AKG 240MKII. PRS, Martin Guitars, Mensinger Bass. Vox & Orange amps. Line 6 Helix.
HCMarkus

Re: Time for a new audio interface?

Post by HCMarkus »

With TB and USB, if the 624 provides the audio I/O you need, it will be an excellent choice.

Why not drop in two X5680 CPUs in your 4,1>5,1 MP while you're at it?
HC Markus
M1 Mac Studio Ultra • 64GB RAM • 828es • macOS 13.6.4 • DP 11.31
dix

Post by dix »