It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:39 am
   
Text Size

Preamp expansion for Ultralite Mk3

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Preamp expansion for Ultralite Mk3

Postby Kerkshar » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:54 am

I want to add mic preamps to my Ultralite mk3 via the line inputs. Would something like a Focusrite Octopre work and would the clock syncing be an issue? or is there a better way of adding more mic preamps to my setup?

Thanks
Kerkshar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:27 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Preamp expansion for Ultralite Mk3

Postby mikehalloran » Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:21 am

Line and Mic inputs are analog. No clock issue if using the Line inputs.

Anything that gives you 6 more mic pres will work if 8 is the goal. Many choices at all price points. Here's a short list of available 8 channel mic pres:
http://www.sweetwater.com/c662--8-channel_Preamps

An Octopre will certainly work but why wouldn't you use ADAT Lightpipe instead to connect the two? Yes, you need to pay attention to the clock but I wouldn't call it an 'issue'. If connecting via Lightpipe, MOTU makes the 8pre.
http://motu.com/products/motuaudio/8pre/optical.html

I often grab my Mackie 1402 as there are direct outs for each of the 6 mic pres—bulky but works well (and I already own one). I use it as an expander to my 828mkII or to replace 6 of the pres in my Zoom R24. I have other tube and solid state preamps but it's often nice to have 6 in one device—and they do sound quite neutral.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.5; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8708
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Preamp expansion for Ultralite Mk3

Postby mikehalloran » Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:51 pm

If you are going to use the line inputs, I strongly recommend color coded TRS patch cables such as these. They're available in 12", 18" and 36". I find the 1' too short for this unless you have both units mounted in a rack.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/CSS845

Image

To make hookup faster for remote gigs, I sort the colors alphabetically and hook them up in that order. I suppose that I could get clear shrink-wrap tubing and make number labels... maybe someday.
https://www.amazon.com/1-6m-Length-Shri ... tube+clear
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.5; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8708
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Preamp expansion for Ultralite Mk3

Postby terrybritton » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:39 pm

mikehalloran wrote:Line and Mic inputs are analog. No clock issue if using the Line inputs.

Anything that gives you 6 more mic pres will work if 8 is the goal. Many choices at all price points. Here's a short list of available 8 channel mic pres:
http://www.sweetwater.com/c662--8-channel_Preamps

An Octopre will certainly work but why wouldn't you use ADAT Lightpipe instead to connect the two?


Mike, unfortunately, the Ultralite is unique in that it only sports an S/PDIF pair, and does not have the ADAT optical connections. (It is ultra-lightpipeless...)

I love your suggestions, though, and will pick up some of those color-coded TRS cables!

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows


Return to General Recording

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form