It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:11 am
   
Text Size

The Raven MTi2 Thread

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby toodamnhip » Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:37 pm

labman wrote:So whats the best way to get from MacPro in machine room out 35 feet to Raven? (Please forgive if someone somewhere already answered this.)

Two tin cans and a long string?
2 x 3.3GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1333 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.10.5
DP 9.02, I loaded DP 9.1 but it was too problematic, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5-6, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Toontrack Drums, Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums,etc
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:11 am

toodamnhip wrote:Two tin cans and a long string?


LOL!

What size can? What gauge string?
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby toodamnhip » Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:01 am

labman wrote:
toodamnhip wrote:Two tin cans and a long string?


LOL!

What size can? What gauge string?

Thats classified info only available if you buy the Slate “everything" Bundle.
You see, “everything” means EVERYTHING...
In case you don't know, tin cans and strings are a part of “everything” there is, and Slate sells it.
2 x 3.3GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1333 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.10.5
DP 9.02, I loaded DP 9.1 but it was too problematic, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5-6, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Toontrack Drums, Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums,etc
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:15 am

toodamnhip wrote:
labman wrote:
toodamnhip wrote:Two tin cans and a long string?


LOL!

What size can? What gauge string?

Thats classified info only available if you buy the Slate “everything" Bundle.
You see, “everything” means EVERYTHING...
In case you don't know, tin cans and strings are a part of “everything” there is, and Slate sells it.


Jeepers. I do own two of the 'everything' licenses. I guess they left the strings and can out of my box.
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby waxman » Wed Nov 30, 2016 8:48 pm

labman wrote:So whats the best way to get from MacPro in machine room out 35 feet to Raven? (Please forgive if someone somewhere already answered this.)


if you are talking about a macpro trash can use the hdmi out to a SDI converter and amp the signal. HDMI is 25 feet at best but HDMI cables are expensive... Use a usb extender cable with a signal amp... both cables solutions are about $50
waxman
DP9.12, Intel 3.5 6 core MacPro, Sierra OS 10.12.3, Slate VMS, Everything Bundle, Raven MTI 2, UAD Apollo 16, Apollo Twin Quad, UAD Satellite Octo Tbolt, 24ch of Focusrite ISA 828 pres, Neve 8816 summing mixer, NI Komplete 10 Ultimate & Arturia V Collection 4, Maschine Studio Hardware, Kontrol 61s, Kronos X88, Spectrasonics Ominisphere, BFD3, Roland TD-30 KV eDrums, Ozone 7, Altiverb, Adam A77X, Auratones, Blue Mics including Bottle, Blueberry & Dragonfly, Final Cut X. PT 11.
User avatar
waxman
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Encinitas CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Thu Dec 01, 2016 6:14 am

waxman wrote:if you are talking about a macpro trash can use the hdmi out to a SDI converter and amp the signal. HDMI is 25 feet at best but HDMI cables are expensive... Use a usb extender cable with a signal amp... both cables solutions are about $50


I have an older tower Mac Pro, but my third party video card has both a DVI and an HDMI out on it. (Currently only using DVI). I have a bunch of USB amps thank aren't being used. But have never heard of SDI converter. What brand do you use Waxman?

Thanks for your help! I am sorta excited to see how the raven helps my workflow.
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Fri Dec 02, 2016 2:48 pm

So far everything is working. Screen isn't reacting as smooth as I would like. Probably need to re-vitalize.

On the V-Control Pro thing, it is obviously working. Do we still need to purchase it from Neyrinck? Or is that included with the Slate purchase.
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Tue Dec 06, 2016 9:01 am

Need some help Waxman and TooDamn and all you Raven veterans. Are your DP track names in TO window and Markers window sharp. Mine aint. They are jagged and a bit smeary.
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby toodamnhip » Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:35 pm

labman wrote:Need some help Waxman and TooDamn and all you Raven veterans. Are your DP track names in TO window and Markers window sharp. Mine aint. They are jagged and a bit smeary.

They are sharp
2 x 3.3GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1333 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.10.5
DP 9.02, I loaded DP 9.1 but it was too problematic, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5-6, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Toontrack Drums, Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums,etc
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:19 pm

toodamnhip wrote:
labman wrote:Need some help Waxman and TooDamn and all you Raven veterans. Are your DP track names in TO window and Markers window sharp. Mine aint. They are jagged and a bit smeary.

They are sharp


Hmmm... Can you read PDFs just as easily as on your mac screen? Are you coming off Mac directly or thru HDMI amplifier?
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby waxman » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:25 pm

I'm confused... In the DP window on a second monitor or the Raven?
waxman
DP9.12, Intel 3.5 6 core MacPro, Sierra OS 10.12.3, Slate VMS, Everything Bundle, Raven MTI 2, UAD Apollo 16, Apollo Twin Quad, UAD Satellite Octo Tbolt, 24ch of Focusrite ISA 828 pres, Neve 8816 summing mixer, NI Komplete 10 Ultimate & Arturia V Collection 4, Maschine Studio Hardware, Kontrol 61s, Kronos X88, Spectrasonics Ominisphere, BFD3, Roland TD-30 KV eDrums, Ozone 7, Altiverb, Adam A77X, Auratones, Blue Mics including Bottle, Blueberry & Dragonfly, Final Cut X. PT 11.
User avatar
waxman
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Encinitas CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:16 am

waxman wrote:I'm confused... In the DP window on a second monitor or the Raven?


On the Raven screen. Reading a PDF is pretty hard on eyes. And the DP track names and marker window text is jagged too. Is it because the pixel size is larger, or because we are sitting right on top of it? Or is your text all peachy nice?

(All is just fine with text on the other monitors)
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby waxman » Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:23 pm

my text is sharp... do you have display set to Raven default? Check with JameyZ on Slate forum.
waxman
DP9.12, Intel 3.5 6 core MacPro, Sierra OS 10.12.3, Slate VMS, Everything Bundle, Raven MTI 2, UAD Apollo 16, Apollo Twin Quad, UAD Satellite Octo Tbolt, 24ch of Focusrite ISA 828 pres, Neve 8816 summing mixer, NI Komplete 10 Ultimate & Arturia V Collection 4, Maschine Studio Hardware, Kontrol 61s, Kronos X88, Spectrasonics Ominisphere, BFD3, Roland TD-30 KV eDrums, Ozone 7, Altiverb, Adam A77X, Auratones, Blue Mics including Bottle, Blueberry & Dragonfly, Final Cut X. PT 11.
User avatar
waxman
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Encinitas CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:08 am

Jamey and I have been working on it. Hoping for solution soon. MY elderly eyes can't handle it. 8)
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: The Raven MTi2 Thread

Postby labman » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:49 pm

Need some help with Raven mixer.

How do I show only certain tracks in the Raven mixer. In DP we have mixer layouts and now in DP 9 we have track Layouts too, which show or hide desired trks. I have 450+ trks in my orch template and am always switching to see only the strgs, or precussion etc. How do I make the Raven mixer mirror what is seen in DP?
AMPGUI themes - Andy rocks !!!, 5 macs,2 macpros, 16GB &48gb ram,10.11.6, and 10.10.3, DP9.12,Waves Mercury, all SLATE, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's all BML Spitfire, LASS, LADD, EW PLAY, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

PreviousNext

Return to General Recording

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form