RMS % question Mastering

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.
Julia123
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

RMS % question Mastering

Post by Julia123 »

I have a song that I mastered through Ozone within DP. (I intend to work within DSP Quattro for my final mastering later but it's still new to me so I just went with DP at first) The RMS digit readings in Ozone at the top of the meter seem to average around around -6.0 I set the peak limit at -0.4 When I transferred this 'Ozoned' file to DSP QUattro I did a "Find Peak & RMS".

It reads:
Peak: - .95
- .40 dB

RMS: +21.34%
-13.41 dB

I'm confused since the -6.0 I saw and the -13.41 are different? I don't get the difference in the RMS numbers. Also, I'm not sure what the +21.34% means and don't see it in the Quattro manual.

One last thing, I'm trying to match volume from song to song for a smooth album flow and am having a tough time truly judging, other than "uh--it sounds about right". Any advice on this? Thanks!
iMac 27" 4.2 GHz i7 1TB SSD. 40 GB RAM. Apogee One.
Dan Worley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: RMS % question Mastering

Post by Dan Worley »

The Ozone RMS readings are momentary, probably 300ms. The DSPQ RMS readings are averaged over the length of the song. I don't know what the % means.

As far as getting the volumes unified between songs, the best (and probably only) way is to adjust by ear. I haven't found meters of much use when it comes to that, though the new meters with gating schemes could possibly offer more help.

Two totally different songs (An acoustic ballad vs. heavy metal) can have identical RMS levels, but the acoustic ballad will sound much louder.
Last edited by Dan Worley on Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DP10.13
Prime Mover

Post by Prime Mover »