Izotope Nectar ELements - waht say ya'll?

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.
Gravity Jim
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Izotope Nectar ELements - waht say ya'll?

Post by Gravity Jim »

Just got an e-mail promoting Izotope's Nectar Elements, a vocal processing plugin that uses a suite of processors to produce "genre specific" vocal sounds. Lots of presets that present a starting point for producing specific kinds of vocal treatments commonly heard in radio genres and beyond.

One segment of my clientele is ad people, who frequently ask me to use a specific sound or pop genre as a starting point, and this - for a lousy $129 - looks like it might be a time-saver.

But I have no experience with Izotope. How's the general sound of their plug-ins? How's tech support? Whattya think about this one?

I will take your input seriously before deciding whether or not to pull the string on the credit card.
Last edited by Gravity Jim on Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jim Bordner

MacPro 5,1 (3.33Ghz 12-core), 32g RAM, OS X 10.14.6 • MOTU DP 10.11 • Logic Pro X 10.2.5 • Waves Platinum, UAD-2, Slate Digital, Komplete, Omnisphere 2, LASS, CineSamples, Chipsounds, V Collection 5[color]
MIDI Life Crisis

Re: Izotope Nectar ELements - waht say ya'll?

Post by MIDI Life Crisis »

I looked at it and the automated stuff concerns me. I don't always remove all breath, for example, and would have to demo the software to be sure about it. I get the feeling I'd end up editing just as much as usual anyway.

I'd put the $$$ into a good noise reduction package.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.14.6; DP 10; Track 16; Finale 26, iPad Pro, et al

MIDI LIFE CRISIS
Gravity Jim

Post by Gravity Jim »