Starting from scratch

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
Juddvegas
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Starting from scratch

Post by Juddvegas »

Hi all,
I use DP9 to mix down my DJ sets. I'm ok at using the engineering aspect of the program but i haven't had a lot of experience in manipulating audio and MIDI and I am not a musician.

I want to try to do some remixes of individual songs, I am not sure where to start with this. As a production newbie I am seeking advice on the workflow how to do this?

For a start, I think I want this to be entirely a sampling task so would it be easier to start and finish this in Mach five?

Thank you in advance.
Enthusiastic but not very good.
mhschmieder

Re: Starting from scratch

Post by mhschmieder »

That's a tough question as it's outside the realm of what MOST of us on this forum do (which does not reflect on DP's appropriateness to the task; it's just that this is a relatively small forum that is made up mostly of Power Users).

My wild guess from what you have said though, is that you want to manipulate audio loops in particular; perhaps in a splice-and-dice way. And though MachFive is more advanced than Kontakt and other samplers when it comes to the more traditional tasks that the hardware samplers of yore (80's/90's era Akai, E-Mu and Yamaha rack samplers), it may be that the waveform editor window of DP is where you'll want to spend most of your time.