How to decouple regions?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
peter
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

How to decouple regions?

Post by peter »

Hi everybody,
I'm new to DP (yeah) and this is my first post, so hello to everybody!
I have some soundbites in a project. I then copied some regions to several places. After changing fade outs on one of them I found the fade outs of the other regions to have changed as well. How can that be avoided? I read the manual about edge editing but did not understand what they where trying to tell me. Blame it on my bad knowledge of your language, I'm no native speaker.
But I read the manual!
Cheers
FMiguelez

Re: How to decouple regions?

Post by FMiguelez »

Welcome to MOTUNation, Peter!

1- In the Sequence Editor window, there's a mini-menu at the top right of the window. Open it, and look for one of the options that reads.... err... i forgot its name, but somethng like " Edge edit Copy". Make sure it is selected.

This will allow you to manipulate the duplicated soundbites independently of each other.

OR

2- Leave it as it i s, and simply press and hold the Command Key every time you make an edit to a SB.

if most of the time you want the current behaviour, use the second option. If you want to be able to edit the duplicates independently easily, use the first option.

Using the Command key will temporarily defeat whatever setting you have in the mini-menu (edit all duplicates or "decouple" them).

:unicorn:
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.14 / DP 9.52
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Mercury, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VEP 7, etc.