How to NOT make the mixer follow track selection?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
the_rpg_moogle
Primary DAW OS: Windows

How to NOT make the mixer follow track selection?

Post by the_rpg_moogle »

Hi everyone, I'm quite new to DP, having recently switched from another DAW. I'm loving it so far, but a few things have me baffled, most of all the way the mixer follows track selections I make in the tracks window. Is it possible to turn this off, so that the mixer doesn't follow my track selections? I would be very grateful with any help regarding this, as I can only find how to make the mixer follow these selections, and not the other way around, which is what I'm interested in.

Thanks in advance,

Joost
magicd
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: How to NOT make the mixer follow track selection?

Post by magicd »

Command-D to deselect all before switching to the mixer. The mixer will then display the tracks that were included last time the window was open.

Dave
Babz
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Post by Babz »

You can also keep the Mixer and the Channel Strip in separate windows (not part of the Consolidated Window). I started doing this because I got tired of forgetting to do the Command-D and only seeing one fader when I switched to the Mixer with a track name highlighted.

Babz
Shooshie

Post by Shooshie »

Using Mission Control/Spaces for efficient workflow in Digital Performer