Vienna Ensemble Pro & DP 9 Compatability

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
pacificm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Vienna Ensemble Pro & DP 9 Compatability

Post by pacificm »

Hello,

I'm just about ready to install Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 (VEP) on my Mac with DP9. On the VSL web forum I came across the thread I've copied at the bottom of this note. It suggests possible compatibility issues between VEP and DP. Has anyone else experienced any problems with this and/or work arounds? Thanks.

"I am getting constant Digital Performer crashes using DP 9.02 and VEPro 5.4.14074 on a Mac Pro. I have been using this combination for a few months without this problem but today DP crashes almost every time I hit Play. The crash report points to VEP MAS as the plugin causing the crash. I have numerous instances of VEP MAS in my sequence connecting to 3 PCs. VEP is not crashing on the Mac or the PCs.

You write that MOTU has reported a bug—is that specfically related to DP 9 and VEP 5?

I tried opening the DP file in 8 and the crashes continue. This is the same DP file that was working fine yesterday in 9. The crashes occur seemingly randomly. The sequence can play for 60 bars and then crash or play for 1 bar and crash."
1) iMac (2020, 3.8 GHz 8 Core Intel i7) OS X 10.15.7, 72 GB RAM
2) iMac Quad Core (Late 2015, 4GHz Intel Core i7) OS X 10.15.7, 32 GB RAM,
3) Mac Pro (Late 2013, 6.5 GHz 6 Core Intel Xeon E5) OS X 10.15.7, 64 GB RAM

Software: DP 10.13, FCPX, VSL Chamber Strings, Vienna Suite, Ensemble Pro 5, MIR Pro | Ivory | Stylus RMX, Trillian, Omnisphere 2 | Samplemodeling Trumpet, Flutes & Saxes | EZ Drummer 2 | BFD3 | East West | MOTU UltraLite Mk3