State of OMF and sharing with Pro Tools

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
Prime Mover
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

State of OMF and sharing with Pro Tools

Post by Prime Mover »

I've been asked to produce a track that will be tracked in a Pro Tools studio, elsewhere. This is a band I've worked with for many years, I've tracked and produced them myself in the past, but they're in another state now, so they're having to track at a third party studio. What is the workflow like for tracking in Pro Tools and transitioning to DP8? I've never used OMF before.

I don't need anything but the basic tracks and takes, in sync. I don't expect there will be any crossfades or edits anywhere, definitely no effects.
— Eric Barker
Eel House

"All's fair in love, war, and the recording studio"
MacPro 1,1 2Ghz 7GB RAM OS 10.6.8 | MacBook Pro 13" i5 1.8Ghz 16GB RAM OS 10.8.2
DP7/8 | Komplete 7 | B4II | Korg Legacy Analog | Waves v9 (various) | Valhalla Room | EWQLSO Gold
MOTU 828mkII | MOTU 8pre | Presonus BlueTube | FMR RNC
Themes: Round is Right and Alloy
apanacci

Re: State of OMF and sharing with Pro Tools

Post by apanacci »

Hey Prime Mover I have found that opening an OMF file works only a few times for me in DP over the last few years. DP, 6, 7 and 8 have been the same. After awhile crash city. I then have to open in another computer with DP on it or I open in Audiodesk and save then open in DP. Good luck with that. Many threads about OMF here.