Questions about DP plugins

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
mlcomposer
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Questions about DP plugins

Post by mlcomposer »

I'm brand new to DP, recording, and mastering. I have a few basic questions ...

1) Is there a tool in DP that displays the average dB level of your mix?

2) Is there a tool that displays the lowest dB level and the highest dB level (high and low peaks) so you know the dynamic range of your mix?

3) I’ve read that the average dB level of your mix should fall somewhere between 10-18 dB, is that true?

4) How do you simultaneously amplify and compress your mix to a particular dynamic range? I've read this is called "upward compression" (gain boost + compression) but I'm not sure.

Sorry for the very basic questions, but I'm brand new to DP and also the entire world of audio recording/mastering. I'd really appreciate your help. Thanks!
Last edited by mlcomposer on Sat Oct 31, 2015 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
mikehalloran
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Questions about audio mastering

Post by mikehalloran »

It would take a book or two to answer your questions properly. What I do with an acoustic music or a choral track isn't going to be the same as someone creating EDM or a film score or pop CDs or contemporary Christian tracks for KLOVE — even though we use DP and many of the same tools.

Your goal like all of us is to create a mix that sounds good on any playback system. The only cardinal rule is to avoid digital distortion. Other than that...