From imported audio to QuickScribe to Sibelius?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
RiccardoRuotolo
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

From imported audio to QuickScribe to Sibelius?

Post by RiccardoRuotolo »

Newbie question...(sorry)

My primary focus is arranging charts for a street band associated with a children's hospital. I use Sibelius 8.0 for most of what I do, so I'm just beginning to learn the complexities of DAWs.

My question is this:

I know I can import an mp3 into DP as a Soundbite...and I know I can then drag the SoundBite into a Sequence...but that's as far as I get. Is it possible (using DP) to create a QuickScribe score of the imported audio file (for subsequent exporting to Sibelius via MusicXML)?

I've wrestled with this for hours, attempting to route the imported stereo audio tracks to mono audio tracks, and then to MIDI tracks. But the more scratch at it, the more it's DAWning on me that it's not possible. (heh heh)

Am I correct in (now) realizing that I'm trying to go "backwards" up the chain; that DAWs are not designed to start with stereo audio, and magically convert to MIDI or MusicXML?

Please let me know if there's a way to convert imported stereo audio to QuickScribe (and then to MusicXML) using DP.

Thank you!

FWIW, PhotoScore Pro and AudioScore Pro are not viable options. They both product very low accuracy output, despite their hefty price tags.
cuttime

Re: From imported audio to QuickScribe to Sibelius?

Post by cuttime »