New to DP, how do I multi-bounce stems like I did in Logic

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
ag75
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

New to DP, how do I multi-bounce stems like I did in Logic

Post by ag75 »

I am pretty new to DP and am working on a project with a composer who uses it exclusively. I am exporting stems from his sessions into Ableton and I'm wondering what's the most efficient way to do this. In logic I would just bounce out all of the stems at once but that doesn't seem to be that easy in DP. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Best,

Andrew
kdm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: New to DP, how do I multi-bounce stems like I did in Log

Post by kdm »

I'm relatively new to DP as well so someone else might have a better suggestion, but I would setup busses/auxes for each stem and re-record those back into stem tracks. This is what I do in DP now, and is the way I've handled stems in Nuendo (even though it now has a form of batch export). Once you have the bus/aux/re-record tracks setup with each track routed to it's own stem bus, it's easier to manage the final output. It's real time of course, but it might not be slower than bouncing each stem individually offline.
groove

Post by groove »

Select the tracks, including any aux and busses up to the last output stage of the tracks you want a stem and the region time length, hit bounce to disk and choose the relevant options for your project.
Repeat for the remaining stems you want to create.
---------