From PT to DP 8

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
JCDC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

From PT to DP 8

Post by JCDC »

Hi, I´m a newbie here!

This is an very interesting forum! I have been a Pro Tools and a Mac guy for many years, recording and mixing (but mostly Wavelab for mastering).
Now I would like to start composing and arranging my own things (about time), and I´ve been looking for a new DAW. It seems to me that I´m too stuck with the mixing things with PT and actually have a hard time doing any kind of composition and orchestration in this DAW. Not because I don´t know how to use it or like it, but it doesn´t invite me to do some creative new things. Very strange, but I just fall back into my mix and mastering thinking, I guess with the engineering eyes and ears.
Well, I was thinking of getting DP8 or LogicX, but I´m an older guy that have been spending years and years to get to know PT (even though there are many more things to discover in PT) and it sort of turns me off to start from the beginning (almost at least) again.

But in theory at least, I think it might be a new fresh start for me to learn one (or both..hopefully not) new DAW. I will use it mostly for MIDI (composing, orchestrate, MIDI mockups, ie lot´s of editing etc). Then I can always export it to PT when it´s time to mix and master too keep PT alive if so. I think this anyhow sound nice.