MIDI Editing Question

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
Shibboleth
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

MIDI Editing Question

Post by Shibboleth »

Hello Everyone,

I am a Composer for Film & Television. My primary DAW has always been Cubase. Recently I've been working in DP8. I have a few questions re: MIDI editing and workflow that I was wondering if other users could answer for me.

1) MIDI Edit & Selection.

I've noticed some weird behavior, and it's driving me crazy with my workflow. Let's say that I am in the Tracks window and select multiple MIDI tracks, regions, etc. If I then select the Quickscribe view, or the Drum editing view, then ALL of these selected tracks are visible right away.

However, when I click into the MIDI edit window, only ONE of these MIDI tracks is visible. I have to then select the others again via the Track Selection sidebar window. Is there any way to have DP8 show ALL of the tracks that I went through the trouble of trying to find and initially select immediately, rather than being forced to use the sideboard selection method?

2) When editing MIDI, there is the teeny tiny pencil symbol in the Tracks Selection sidebar that designates which track is currently editable.

Is there a way to QUICKLY cycle through my selected visible tracks for editing? This is something do all the time in Cubase, and it's extremely frustrating to have to use the mouse, and try to click the tiny space to make the pencil tool show up on an alternate MIDI track selection.

Something quick, like left/right or up/down arrows to jump back and forth through my selections?

3) MIDI EDITING REDUX