when were comp tracks added to DP?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
menright
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

when were comp tracks added to DP?

Post by menright »

I've been using Performer since 1989 and can't believe I never knew about comp tracks before. When was this feature added to DP?
MacBook Pro 17' 2.66 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB, DP9.1, MachFive3, Ethno2, Synthmaster, Waves, UVI, Ableton Live
mikehalloran

Re: when were comp tracks added to DP?

Post by mikehalloran »

According to this in-depth review, DP 6.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jul09/a ... p_0709.htm

It's a pretty good tutorial.
DP 11.31; 828mkII FW, micro lite, M4, MTP/AV USB Firmware 2.0.1
2023 Mac Studio M2 8TB, 192GB RAM, OS Sonoma 14.4.1, USB4 8TB external, M-Audio AIR 192|14, Mackie ProFxv3 6/10/12; 2012 MBPs Catalina, Mojave
IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan-Antares, LogicPro X, Finale 27.4, Dorico 5.2, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 5, SmartScore64 Pro, Toast 20 Pro
Shooshie

Post by Shooshie »

menright wrote:I've been using Performer since 1989 and can't believe I never knew about comp tracks before. When was this feature added to DP?
DP has a lot of "magic" tools, but I'd be hard pressed to think of one more magical than the comp tool. I spend a lot of time in this forum talking about tools and techniques that don't quite do what we all think they ought to, or about tools that simply aren't there, but that we all think SHOULD be there. While I think I also praise MOTU more than I criticize them, this would be a good time to tell them what a wonderful thing they created back in version 6, when they made the Comp Tool.