Quantizing Drums.. really this easy?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
Killahurts
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Quantizing Drums.. really this easy?

Post by Killahurts »

I don't do a lot of this kind of thing, so I'm not sure if I'm doing it right or if I just got lucky. I recorded a live stereo percussion track, couple of ethnic drums. I selected the soundbite in the TO and did this: Audio/Audio from Beats/ New sound file from beats. Within a second I started playing the sequence and it sounded spot on. I have a pretty good sense of rhythm when playing, but not this good.. did it really go in and fix my drums that well?

If it did, I'm stunned by the accuracy and transparency. I did not know DP had this under the hood.

If I didn't do it right, then I am, of course, stunned by my own talent..

So why not use undo to find out? Because I do not want to change anything about the track, it's perfect, and I don't trust the ghost in the machine, lol.

Was that the right procedure for doing this?
DP11, 2019 16-Core Mac Pro, Monterey, 64GB RAM. RME HDSPe MADI FX to SSL Alphalink to SSL Matrix console, and multiple digital sub consoles. UAD Quad PCIe. Outboard stuff.
labman
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Quantizing Drums.. really this easy?

Post by labman »

"If I didn't do it right, then I am, of course, stunned by my own talent.."

:rofl:
That line is such a keeper! We have all been stunned that way.