It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:47 am
   
Text Size

Buffers Multipliers in VE Pro 5, bit confused

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

Buffers Multipliers in VE Pro 5, bit confused

Postby toodamnhip » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:53 am

I am a bit confused as to the purpose and function of the buffer multipliers in VE Pro.

1) Are the buffer multiplier settings meant to improve realtime throughput of MIDI? 2) Are the buffer multipliers meant to improve cpu load on the host? 3) Are both statements true?

History--- I have been using VE Pro 5 in DP and recently sync problems with Digital Performer 8.01 and VE 5.1.11849 have led e to make tests with the buffers and the results have been confusing to me. I previously thought the latency buffers being set to 4x would take a load of of DP during playback. And, with VE Pro set to 4x buffers, when DP is set to low latency, there are less cpu spikes so setting the buffers to 4 x seem to have a slight effect. But not MUCH of an effect. I seem to remember before DP vers. 8.01 the cpu difference was really obviously improved at 4x buffers compared to buffers set at “none", but now, it is only a small improvement. Either setting VE pros’ buffers to 4x do less than I though to improve system cpu load or DP 8 and VE pro have become more efficient. Playing MIDI in realtime seems to show that even with DPs buffers set to 1024, if I run VE at a latency on NONE, there is no throughput delay and VE triggers immediately. So this seems to indicate that the buffer multiplier is for real time throughput. Or is it it both to improve realtime throughput and to lighten CPU load? A little explanation would be appreciated. 1) Are the buffer multiplier settings meant to improve realtime throughput of MIDI? 2) Are the buffer multipliers meant to improve cpu load on the host? 3) Are both statements true?
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Buffers Multipliers in VE Pro 5, bit confused

Postby nk_e » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:47 am

That's a great question.

This sounds snarky but it is not meant to be: Have you posted it over at the VSL forums? Seems like something they could answer in a heartbeat.

If you have, and you get an answer, it would be a service to update the thread here....

12 core MacPro 2.66GHZ | 14 GB RAM | OS 10.9 | DP 8.0.5 | CUBASE 7.5 | MOTU Interfaces | Way Too Many Plug-ins |

http://www.gesslr.com
http://soundcloud.com/gesslr
FB: gesslr.gesslr
@gesslr via Twitter

Check out the DP 8 Tutorials at Groove 3!
http://www.groove3.com/str/Digital-Perf ... ained.html
http://www.groove3.com/str/Digital-Perf ... anced.html
User avatar
nk_e
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:04 am
Location: USA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Buffers Multipliers in VE Pro 5, bit confused

Postby toodamnhip » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:53 am

nk_e wrote:That's a great question.

This sounds snarky but it is not meant to be: Have you posted it over at the VSL forums? Seems like something they could answer in a heartbeat.

If you have, and you get an answer, it would be a service to update the thread here....

No Problem. Could you also take a look at the sync issue I am having with DP 8 and see if you too have that problem?
Here’s the post: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=52217
PS.
I do have a post over at Vienna too. But they have been a bit unresponsive lately.
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Buffers Multipliers in VE Pro 5, bit confused

Postby nk_e » Wed Nov 28, 2012 7:16 am

will do.

12 core MacPro 2.66GHZ | 14 GB RAM | OS 10.9 | DP 8.0.5 | CUBASE 7.5 | MOTU Interfaces | Way Too Many Plug-ins |

http://www.gesslr.com
http://soundcloud.com/gesslr
FB: gesslr.gesslr
@gesslr via Twitter

Check out the DP 8 Tutorials at Groove 3!
http://www.groove3.com/str/Digital-Perf ... ained.html
http://www.groove3.com/str/Digital-Perf ... anced.html
User avatar
nk_e
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:04 am
Location: USA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], kgdrum and 4 guests


Who is online

In total there are 8 users online :: 2 registered, 2 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], kgdrum and 4 guests

Login Form