It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:31 am
   
Text Size

DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Chris T » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:16 am

MIDI Over Lan CP has been working fine recently, but it just stopped working again. Here's my setup:

Mac Pro, OS 10.6.8
DP7.21
MIDI setup through Audio MIDI Setup. Configuration has not changed.
MOL CP 3.3.900 (I tried updating the MAC vs to 901, but I think this is just for PC right? The updater is just called 900 when I downloaded it.... So I think I might have just installed the 900 ontop of itself... Anyway, it was working after I did that yesterday anyway).

2 PCs, Windows Vista
Plogue Bidule (running EW PLAY and Kontakt sounds)
MOL CP3.3.901

All setups are confirgured correctly, as they have been all along. Problem is, DP will not send MIDI data to the PCs (my other 2 PCs using trad MIDI interfaces are working fine).

The LIGHTS on the MIDI Monitor on the MAC are black (i.e. active) on the activated parts, although they don't light up (i.e. not sending MIDI signal).

The lights on the PCs are also black, but no lighting.

Please help!... Thanks!
DP8.05, MOTU PCI 424, 2408 interfaces (4)
Intel (late 2007) 8-Core Mac, 28GB RAM, OS10.6.8
Mac software: DP, All NI, VE PRO, All Spectrasonics etc.
Chris T
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Marc7777 » Tue May 01, 2012 11:42 am

I use MoL CP3 with a Mac to a PC. Honestly, I think I got lucky because it just started working... ha

But here are some things I learned along the way...

The versions need to be exactly the same (Mac and PC). If you read the change logs on the versions it'll tell you what they are compatible with. Also the FAQ section on their website was helpful.

I upgraded my Mac to a newer version, then it wasn't working. After hours of wondering why, I updated the PC and it all started working.

Although, After I updated, I had to go in and make all the assignments again. as in, go through each port and attach it to the computer name. (drop down menu)

Restarting computers a lot also seemed to help. Once you make a change, it seemed to "Stick" after restarting both computers.

I assume you already did the obvious - static IP's, MIDI Setup config (on Mac)

Again, I'm not the most experienced at this, but I had a similar problem and this was how I fixed it.
DP 8.04 64bit, VEP 5 (Latest), 1 Dual Quad 2.26 Mac Pro 2009 w/ 10.8 as DP DAW. 1 Dual Quad 2.26 Mac Pro 2009 w/ 10.6 as VEP Sample Machine. PCIe 424 - 4 2408's. Console - Yamaha 02R 96v2. AD/DA - Apogee Symphony IO. Waves, Sonnox, MOTU Plugins.
Marc7777
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Chris T » Wed May 02, 2012 9:21 pm

Thanks Marc

Well I updated both Mac and PC to the latest versions. Turns out though that the PC latest version is 3.3.901, but Mac is 3.3.900. Could this be the problem? Do you know if there's a way to roll back my PCs to 3.3.900?

Also, I didn't know about static IPs. How do I do this? I just setup my MOL in Audio MIDI setup. Weird thing now is, I have 2 PCs on old MOTU MIDI interfaces (128 Expresses), and 2 PCs on MOL. When the MIDI work, MOL doesn't, then randomly it's vice versa (MOL works, MIDI doesn't!!..).

MusicLab told me that it was a DP MIDI issue (which I assume is Audio MIDI setup. Thing is, I believe I have the latest vs of this (comes with the OS)...which is 3.0.3

Any ideas?...

Thanks!
DP8.05, MOTU PCI 424, 2408 interfaces (4)
Intel (late 2007) 8-Core Mac, 28GB RAM, OS10.6.8
Mac software: DP, All NI, VE PRO, All Spectrasonics etc.
Chris T
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Chris T » Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:58 am

I got my system workign again (after lots of trial and error - restarting, then I think reinstalling MOL). It just happended again though and for several days I've been down with no MOL. MusicLab seem unable to help, short of saying 'reinstall MOL on your PCs'.

I'll do this, then if it doesn't work, reinstall again on my Mac. Hopefully that'll fix it....watch this space!..

This seems symptomatic of a more fundamental instability issue though. Is anyone else having issues with MOL CP 3.3.900 (/901).

Does anyone know much about Audio MIDI Setup? There doesn't seem to be any udpates of that (I assume it comes with OS ?). Could it be that my OS is just too old? (see below).

I know it's not just a DP issue because Audio MIDI Setup behaves erratically. I keep having to "rescan MIDI" in order for it to alternately "see" my MIDI interfaces, then MOL....

Any ideas?...
DP8.05, MOTU PCI 424, 2408 interfaces (4)
Intel (late 2007) 8-Core Mac, 28GB RAM, OS10.6.8
Mac software: DP, All NI, VE PRO, All Spectrasonics etc.
Chris T
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Chris T » Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:59 am

Also, could a "static IP" be the answer? If so, how do I do this, and on which machine (MAC or PCs)?
thanx
DP8.05, MOTU PCI 424, 2408 interfaces (4)
Intel (late 2007) 8-Core Mac, 28GB RAM, OS10.6.8
Mac software: DP, All NI, VE PRO, All Spectrasonics etc.
Chris T
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Marc7777 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:11 pm

Chris T wrote:Also, could a "static IP" be the answer? If so, how do I do this, and on which machine (MAC or PCs)?


That does sound like a DHCP issue. Which means that if you use DHCP your router will assign your computer it's IP address.. This will wreak havoc on your system if you are depending on a specific IP address - MOL, VEP, etc.

To set a static IP on a MAC:

Go To System Prefs --> Network --> drop down menu called "Configure IPv4" choose Use DHCP with Manual address.

Now put what was IP address was there. probably something like 192.168.0.xxx

Now you have a static IP. static meaning it won't change.

I'm not sure about PC's .. i'm sure google would be your friend on that.
DP 8.04 64bit, VEP 5 (Latest), 1 Dual Quad 2.26 Mac Pro 2009 w/ 10.8 as DP DAW. 1 Dual Quad 2.26 Mac Pro 2009 w/ 10.6 as VEP Sample Machine. PCIe 424 - 4 2408's. Console - Yamaha 02R 96v2. AD/DA - Apogee Symphony IO. Waves, Sonnox, MOTU Plugins.
Marc7777
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Marc7777 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:14 pm

Oh, in MOL when you select the receiving and sending computers - there is a pull down menu to choose what computers. You might see duplicates of the same name. this is because it keeps everything you've ever been connected to.

There's a way to refresh this, by deleting a plist. I'm not 100% sure, but i know MusicLab support has given me step by step instructions before.

...or you could play a guessing game and if one name doesn't work, try the other, etc.

...Or you could change your computer name, but that might mess up other things for ya.

Hope that helps!
DP 8.04 64bit, VEP 5 (Latest), 1 Dual Quad 2.26 Mac Pro 2009 w/ 10.8 as DP DAW. 1 Dual Quad 2.26 Mac Pro 2009 w/ 10.6 as VEP Sample Machine. PCIe 424 - 4 2408's. Console - Yamaha 02R 96v2. AD/DA - Apogee Symphony IO. Waves, Sonnox, MOTU Plugins.
Marc7777
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Shooshie » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:38 pm

Chris T wrote:`MusicLab told me that it was a DP MIDI issue (which I assume is Audio MIDI setup.


Tech Support 101: When you don't know the answer, blame Digital Performer. Most people will believe you, and you can wash your hands of their problems. The remaining few who know better and challenge your knowledge will hang up if you tell them they should get a "real" DAW like Logic.

:mrgreen:

Shooshie

PS: Audio MIDI Setup is an Apple app.
|l| OS X 10.9.2 Mavericks |l| DP 8.06 |l| 2.4 GHz 12-Core MacPro 2012 |l| 40GB RAM |l| Mach5.3 |l| Waves 9.x |l| Nomad Factory Vintage Plugins |l| Altiverb |l| Ivory 2 New York Steinway |l| Wallander WIVI 2.30 Winds, Brass, Saxes |l| Garritan Aria |l| VSL 5.3.1 and VSL Pro 2.3.1 |l| Yamaha WX-5 MIDI Wind Controller |l| Roland FC-300 |l|
User avatar
Shooshie
 
Posts: 16684
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Dallas
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.21 with MOL CP3.3.900

Postby Chris T » Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:22 pm

Thanks Marc - I'll try the Static IP.
DP8.05, MOTU PCI 424, 2408 interfaces (4)
Intel (late 2007) 8-Core Mac, 28GB RAM, OS10.6.8
Mac software: DP, All NI, VE PRO, All Spectrasonics etc.
Chris T
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bennie Sims and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Bennie Sims and 2 guests

Login Form