Reccomendations on a string VI/library for a String Quartet?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
BKK-OZ
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Reccomendations on a string VI/library for a String Quartet?

Post by BKK-OZ »

I have had an idea for a string quartet piece for ages. I'm a self-taught musician (if I dare to call myself that!) and my oldest son has been going to a high school that specializes in music. Now that he is getting pretty good with his 'cello and piano playing and his singing, I thought I would take the time to try and get this thing recorded, to you know, show him some of the old man's 'stuff'. Like all teenagers, according to him, he knows everything about everything, and like all old bulls, I'm not quite ready to cede the high ground just yet, so I thought I'd lay this thing down and see if he might give me a bit more respect. (That last bit is a joke of course - teenage boy+respect = hmmmmm....)

Its funny actually, he's turned into a bit of music snob - earlier this year I was driving him to one of his concerts (he was singing in a choir with the local symphony orchestra) and I was playing some contemporary electronic music in the car, and he actually told me to "...turn that noise down..." because he wanted to "...listen to some real music..." because, after all, he was about to perform some "...Mahler..., you know Papa, real music"! My dad used to tell me to turn my rock and roll down when I was younger, and now my son is doing the same thing!