It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:21 am
   
Text Size

AmpGUI DP Themes (now at AMPGUIMODS.NET)

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby KEVORKIAN » Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:55 pm

+1
dp7.2 || os 10.6.7 || 2x2.8 (eight core) intel mac pro, 16gb ram || metric halo uln-8 || motu traveler || euphonix mc control || waves mercury || abbey road bundle || mh channelstrip || toontrack sd 2.0, ez drummer, drumtracker || addictive drums || drumcore 3 || ni komplete 5 || reason || bidule || altiverb 6 || omnisphere, stylus RMX || melodyne 3.2 || stillwell || soundtoys || nomad factory|| psp || mpressor || dsm ||
User avatar
KEVORKIAN
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: I'm your Huckleberry
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby npj » Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:11 pm

+1+1+1

Such a relaxing blue... I want!

On a related note, I've found a bug with the AmpGUI's! In the MIDI editor, if I select a CC to edit it's value, the number gets partially chopped off. I only see '8' instead of '88'. If I click on the where I see '8' the full number is displayed/selected as usual. Happens in both the Gold and Dark GUI's.

Does that make sense?
npj
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby amplidood » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:19 pm

npj wrote:+1+1+1

Such a relaxing blue... I want!

On a related note, I've found a bug with the AmpGUI's! In the MIDI editor, if I select a CC to edit it's value, the number gets partially chopped off. I only see '8' instead of '88'. If I click on the where I see '8' the full number is displayed/selected as usual. Happens in both the Gold and Dark GUI's.

Does that make sense?


Yes, this is a problem I was afraid would come up because the way the info bar is handled in DP. I may have to go to a completely translucent interior for when the end of the bar overlaps data or elements.
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby npj » Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:12 am

That's a bummer... For me, going translucent would be a worthwhile sacrifice. Does that mean the info bar would be the same colour as the MIDI editor's background?
npj
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby amplidood » Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:23 am

Gold Complete 1.4.1 posted...will do same fix to Dark soon...
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby amplidood » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:22 am

Delete
Last edited by amplidood on Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby KEVORKIAN » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:33 am

I like it.

Image
dp7.2 || os 10.6.7 || 2x2.8 (eight core) intel mac pro, 16gb ram || metric halo uln-8 || motu traveler || euphonix mc control || waves mercury || abbey road bundle || mh channelstrip || toontrack sd 2.0, ez drummer, drumtracker || addictive drums || drumcore 3 || ni komplete 5 || reason || bidule || altiverb 6 || omnisphere, stylus RMX || melodyne 3.2 || stillwell || soundtoys || nomad factory|| psp || mpressor || dsm ||
User avatar
KEVORKIAN
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: I'm your Huckleberry
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby James Steele » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:35 am

amplidood wrote:Progress report...

Image


Wow! Dude... beautiful so far. I like it a lot. I hope you'll keep it a minor revamp, except I know I'd really like to see the same style faders you used in gold. I don't like the slotted 3d fader channels in the stock GUI. Also, consider this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=38493

I don't think I'd use this mod overall, but notice the fader cap on the fader with a little green lite for unmuted and yellow for muted. I thought that was interesting... at least the concept of doing something diffent with the fader caps for muted/unmuted tracks. Perhaps muted could be a very light or ghosted outline... or maybe different colors. Or maybe nothng... just throwing it out there.

Either way, nice work on this so far. This is definitely the approach I wanted to take if I had the time to expend on my own mixing board mod.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.9.1, ATI 5770, DP 8.05, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14566
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby James Steele » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:40 am

Oh... I'm just throwing this out there but I humbly suggest considering making the off status of the solo/mute/rec/input, etc... a totally neutral color, making it easier in a large mixing board to see which are lit, similar to my mixing board. Just a suggestion... I can always tweak stuff to individual taste. Either way, man... really like what you're doing with this one.

Here's my mixing board...

Image
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.9.1, ATI 5770, DP 8.05, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14566
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby groove » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:48 am

Amp,

this new mod you're working on is gorgeous. A clean mix of Motu's and your very own Dark mod for the pleasure of us all.

Please keep us post.

Thanks.
---------
Mac Pro 3,46 GHz 6-Core, 24GB ram OS X 10.9.2, DP8, LIVE 9, VE PRO5, custom Mac Minis, MOTU Traveller, UAD-2, UA 6176, UA 2192, Waves V9, LASS Full, VSL, Korg MS-20, Virus C, NI Komplete9, Alchemy, Stylus RMX, Arturia V Collection, Arturia SparkLe, GForce Oddity.
User avatar
groove
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Montreal
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby Dwetmaster » Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:07 pm

amplidood wrote:Progress report...

Image

Very Nice A'dood
I've been wishing for new inserts for a while now. These will definitely be welcomed
MacPro 8Core 2.8GHZ 16GB RAM OSX10.8.3
MacBook Pro 17" Unibody 2011 OSX10.8.3
896mk3, BLA Modded 896HD, BLA Microclock, MTP-AV, Yamaha KX-8, CME VX-7 Mackie Ctrl, megadrum, Presonus C-S,
DP8.04, Bidule, M5 3, Ethno 2, BPM 1.5 Kontakt4, BFD2, SD2, Omnisphere, Wave Arts P-S5, Altiverb7, PSP VW & OldTimer, VB3, Ivory 2 Grand, True Pianos, Ozone 5, Reason 4, AmpliTube3, Bla bla bla...
A few El & Ac basses & Guitars, Hammond A-100.
User avatar
Dwetmaster
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Montreal Canada
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby amplidood » Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:39 pm

James Steele wrote:I don't think I'd use this mod overall, but notice the fader cap on the fader with a little green lite for unmuted and yellow for muted. I thought that was interesting... at least the concept of doing something diffent with the fader caps for muted/unmuted tracks. Perhaps muted could be a very light or ghosted outline... or maybe different colors. Or maybe nothng... just throwing it out there.


Hey man, it's a good idea. Here's the *only* issue I've always had with the solo setup in DP. In solo mode, attention is drawn to tracks that *are not* solo'd with all the yellows. This has always been distracting to me. If the yellow applied to the tracks that are actually being solo'd, I'd go ahead with an idea like this.
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby James Steele » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:00 pm

amplidood wrote:
James Steele wrote:I don't think I'd use this mod overall, but notice the fader cap on the fader with a little green lite for unmuted and yellow for muted. I thought that was interesting... at least the concept of doing something diffent with the fader caps for muted/unmuted tracks. Perhaps muted could be a very light or ghosted outline... or maybe different colors. Or maybe nothng... just throwing it out there.


Hey man, it's a good idea. Here's the *only* issue I've always had with the solo setup in DP. In solo mode, attention is drawn to tracks that *are not* solo'd with all the yellows. This has always been distracting to me. If the yellow applied to the tracks that are actually being solo'd, I'd go ahead with an idea like this.


Right. As i recall there's a fader graphic for muted channels and one for unmuted channels. You could probably have muted channels with a plain fader and active with an illuminated greed LED. Or just leave it alone. Just thinking out loud. I remember once suggesting something as radical to MOTU has having faders completely disappear when muted and reappear when not muted, although some people want visual indication of fader level when muted. Like I said, some sort of "ghost" fader that's translucent on muted channels might be cool.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.9.1, ATI 5770, DP 8.05, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14566
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby amplidood » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:49 pm

James Steele wrote:Right. As i recall there's a fader graphic for muted channels and one for unmuted channels. You could probably have muted channels with a plain fader and active with an illuminated greed LED. Or just leave it alone. Just thinking out loud. I remember once suggesting something as radical to MOTU has having faders completely disappear when muted and reappear when not muted, although some people want visual indication of fader level when muted. Like I said, some sort of "ghost" fader that's translucent on muted channels might be cool.


OOoooooooh... duh. You are right. I'm thinking of what's wrong with the way they've set it up instead of using it to our advantage. See, I'm still learning. ;)
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: AmpGUI7 (always updating first post)

Postby amplidood » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:40 pm

Delete
Last edited by amplidood on Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

PreviousNext

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form