It is currently Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:58 pm
   
Text Size

vienna symphonic library & dp?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

vienna symphonic library & dp?

Postby darrell » Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:43 pm

Hi all,

I'm thinking about buying a couple of single instruments from the Vienna library. Will their sample player work with DP? Also, can I put their authorizations on an iLok, or do I have to use their proprietary key?

Any comments about usage or problems would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Darrell Adams
Mac Pro Early 2009, OS 10.10.4, Drives: 500GB SSD (boot), 2 1-TB WDC & 1 1-TB Samsung SSD (storage) /DP 9.1 (9.2 when it's playing nice) / EastWest Play virtual insts: MOR, Fab 4, Platinum Orch, Hollywood Orch, Symphonic Choirs / Mach Five 3 / Slate MCi 3.2 / Genelec 1030A's & sub
darrell
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 1:49 pm
Location: Bay Area, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: vienna symphonic library & dp?

Postby FMiguelez » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:59 pm

I have the VSL Super Package, VI Pro and VE Pro, and it is all amazing!

Last I checked, they have a free player and the Pro version.
I've always used their stuff via VE Pro, so I don't know if you can run your instruments in DP directly via the VI player or you must use VE (they probably have a free version too). Either way it should work, and you can always try their free trial demos before you buy to test for yourself in your system.

DP and any of their products have always worked great. I've heard some people are having issues with High Sierra, but I use it with El Capitan and DP9.51, and it's flawless.

You will be very happy.

As for the iLok... no. They use a different dongle. I think it's Steinberg's. You can purchase it from them, and use the eLicesner software (free).
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.10.3 / DP 9.02
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 7396
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: vienna symphonic library & dp?

Postby darrell » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:37 pm

Thanks! The answer I was hoping for!
Mac Pro Early 2009, OS 10.10.4, Drives: 500GB SSD (boot), 2 1-TB WDC & 1 1-TB Samsung SSD (storage) /DP 9.1 (9.2 when it's playing nice) / EastWest Play virtual insts: MOR, Fab 4, Platinum Orch, Hollywood Orch, Symphonic Choirs / Mach Five 3 / Slate MCi 3.2 / Genelec 1030A's & sub
darrell
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 1:49 pm
Location: Bay Area, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: vienna symphonic library & dp?

Postby mhschmieder » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:34 pm

I've never had any problems with Vienna Instruments in DP. Only with Vienna Ensemble (and usually those get fixed quickly).

The dongle is the eLicenser that is now owned by Steinberg. A few years ago, it was problematic on the Mac, but no longer.

The first time you launch an instance of Vienna Instruments in a session (I think it's a computer session that determines this, vs. a DP session), it can be a bit slow, as it apparently does some bookkeeping in the background to speed things up later.

Each subsequent instance of VI on a track, is pretty much immediate.

Vienna Symphonic Library can frustrate some people when they "start small", as they may be missing some of the most important articulations. Make sure to make use of the Dynamics patches if available in what you buy.

To speed up work with VSL, I copy/paste the MIDI track once it's finalized, drag it forward by six ticks, set up a VI Preset where I drag eight common articulations, and then play with the key switches on the parallel MIDI track until happy with the phrasing/timing/dynamics, then delete redundancies in the parallel key switch track.
iMac 27" 2017 Quad-Core Intel i5 (3.8 GHz, 8 GB), OSX 10.12.6, MOTU DP 9.5.1, iZotope RX 6.0.0
FireFace UFX, Audient ASP880, True Precision 8, AEA RPQ2, Radial PZ-DI & Reamp JCR

Eugenio Upright, 60th P-Bass, Select J-Bass, Geddy Lee J-Bass, BBP35, HCT-500/7, Viking Bari
Select Strat/Tele, Am Pro JMaster, 57 LP, RevStar RS502T, G5422-12, G5622T, T486RB, ES295, PM2, EXL1
Masterbilt De Luxe, J100 Xtra, AC530-12, E10D, OM28VTS, E20P, M20, LS8
Yamaha WX5, Hammond XK-1c, Moog Voyager
User avatar
mhschmieder
 
Posts: 10350
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: vienna symphonic library & dp?

Postby darrell » Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:27 pm

That's a very clever idea with the KS auditions! Thanks for the insights....I plan to go ahead and make a purchase.

darrell a.
Mac Pro Early 2009, OS 10.10.4, Drives: 500GB SSD (boot), 2 1-TB WDC & 1 1-TB Samsung SSD (storage) /DP 9.1 (9.2 when it's playing nice) / EastWest Play virtual insts: MOR, Fab 4, Platinum Orch, Hollywood Orch, Symphonic Choirs / Mach Five 3 / Slate MCi 3.2 / Genelec 1030A's & sub
darrell
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 1:49 pm
Location: Bay Area, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: vienna symphonic library & dp?

Postby mhschmieder » Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:36 pm

The six ticks are just because MIDI handling isn't usually instant, but might need to be adjusted based on tempo and whether you have legato going on (which I don't use a whole lot in my own music -- especially not continuously).

If I have multiple codes involved, for the preset traversal (some may have a CC, a low note as key switch, and something else as well, for three controls on the patch switching), I usually leave a few ticks between each.

This may not be necessary, but comes from years of experience with SysEx and other "expensive" operations needing some lead time before everything kicks in.

It might be best to hold off on shifting the duplicate track by any amount at all though, so that notes that are left "as-is" while auditioning key switches, effectively double the volume (if anything) rather than a stutter effect that could confuse your articulation choices.

My technique is a bit more detailed than I'm saying here, but follows VERY closely what I learned from Beat Kaufman's very helpful tutorials.
iMac 27" 2017 Quad-Core Intel i5 (3.8 GHz, 8 GB), OSX 10.12.6, MOTU DP 9.5.1, iZotope RX 6.0.0
FireFace UFX, Audient ASP880, True Precision 8, AEA RPQ2, Radial PZ-DI & Reamp JCR

Eugenio Upright, 60th P-Bass, Select J-Bass, Geddy Lee J-Bass, BBP35, HCT-500/7, Viking Bari
Select Strat/Tele, Am Pro JMaster, 57 LP, RevStar RS502T, G5422-12, G5622T, T486RB, ES295, PM2, EXL1
Masterbilt De Luxe, J100 Xtra, AC530-12, E10D, OM28VTS, E20P, M20, LS8
Yamaha WX5, Hammond XK-1c, Moog Voyager
User avatar
mhschmieder
 
Posts: 10350
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest

Login Form