It is currently Fri May 26, 2017 9:22 pm
   
Text Size

DP 9.13 available

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby bleach30 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:15 pm

JSmith1234567 wrote:Can someone confirm that they have NOT brought back the global preference to run all plug-ins in real-time?

This is the reason I went back to 9.02 after terrible performance and annoyances in 9.12.

Thanks!


Not there. I was hoping for the same thing.
bleach30
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Houston, TX.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby bleach30 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:20 pm

Michael Canavan wrote:
bleach30 wrote: and the bigger one of NOT being able to save plugin presets from MOTU's OWN plugins. 3rd party plugins preset saving works fine. This is on my home machine and Im about to go to the studio and see what happens there. On that machine currently I can't save ANY plugin presets.

This sounds like Permissions issues to me. Just wondering if you've tried anything on that line?
I've had issues where the OS doesn't allow an application access to my VST and Component folders, or other folders etc.


Oh yes. I've done all of that..many times. This started with a clean install of DP9. It was also a brand new iMac just out of the box. Both of them..home and studio.
bleach30
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Houston, TX.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby JSmith1234567 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:48 pm

bleach30 wrote:
JSmith1234567 wrote:Can someone confirm that they have NOT brought back the global preference to run all plug-ins in real-time?

This is the reason I went back to 9.02 after terrible performance and annoyances in 9.12.

Thanks!


Not there. I was hoping for the same thing.


Man...I don't understand it.

This is like the ONE biggest complaint about 9.12, and they just ignored it?

It's the thing that made 9.12 unusable for me and allot of other people, considering the voluminous postings about that specific issue here on this forum and talking to friends who use DP.

I can't believe that's not like the first thing they would have fixed?

Do they just want to drive off there customer-base?
JSmith1234567
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:48 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby HCMarkus » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:23 pm

JSmith1234567 wrote:
bleach30 wrote:
JSmith1234567 wrote:Can someone confirm that they have NOT brought back the global preference to run all plug-ins in real-time?

This is the reason I went back to 9.02 after terrible performance and annoyances in 9.12.

Thanks!


Not there. I was hoping for the same thing.


Man...I don't understand it.

This is like the ONE biggest complaint about 9.12, and they just ignored it?

It's the thing that made 9.12 unusable for me and allot of other people, considering the voluminous postings about that specific issue here on this forum and talking to friends who use DP.

I can't believe that's not like the first thing they would have fixed?

Do they just want to drive off there customer-base?

Maybe they fixed the pre-rendering engine so it works better... I am looking forward to installing 9.13 and finding out for myself.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5876
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby waxman » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:50 pm

The magic mouse in pitch is fixed...

I used DP 9.13 the last two days and added the latest 3.3 update for the Raven. Thankfully all is working well. HC is correct how could they not fix the global run in real time?

I record at 128 and mix and 256. I have NOT had any issues with those buffer settings. I have had issues when I go up to 512 and 1024.
waxman
DP9.12, Intel 3.5 6 core MacPro, Sierra OS 10.12.3, Slate VMS, Everything Bundle, Raven MTI 2, UAD Apollo 16, Apollo Twin Duo, UAD Satellite Octo Tbolt, 24ch of Focusrite ISA 828 pres, Neve 8816 summing mixer, NI Komplete 10 Ultimate & Arturia V Collection 4, Maschine Studio Hardware, Kontrol 61s, Kronos X88, Spectrasonics Ominisphere, BFD3, Roland TD-30 KV eDrums, Ozone 7, Altiverb, Adam A77X, Auratones, Blue Mics including Bottle, Blueberry & Dragonfly, Final Cut X. PT 11.
User avatar
waxman
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Encinitas CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby James Steele » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:52 pm

HCMarkus wrote:Maybe they fixed the pre-rendering engine so it works better... I am looking forward to installing 9.13 and finding out for myself.


I know, right? I mean imagine IF... :D

We now return you to doom and despair... :shock:
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 Hexcore 3.33, 24GB RAM, macOS 10.12.2, ATI 5770, DP 9.12, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16631
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby HCMarkus » Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:47 pm

waxman wrote:The magic mouse in pitch is fixed...

Yippee! Installing now.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5876
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby Michael Canavan » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:55 pm

bleach30 wrote:
Michael Canavan wrote:
bleach30 wrote: and the bigger one of NOT being able to save plugin presets from MOTU's OWN plugins. 3rd party plugins preset saving works fine. This is on my home machine and Im about to go to the studio and see what happens there. On that machine currently I can't save ANY plugin presets.

This sounds like Permissions issues to me. Just wondering if you've tried anything on that line?
I've had issues where the OS doesn't allow an application access to my VST and Component folders, or other folders etc.


Oh yes. I've done all of that..many times. This started with a clean install of DP9. It was also a brand new iMac just out of the box. Both of them..home and studio.

I'm sitting here able to save presets in MOTU's plug ins. I'm not talking about just repairing permissions. I had an issue where the permissions OSX was writing were too strict for the application I was using, AudioFinder, and it could not use this cool plug in manager it has to disable plug ins, it didn't have permission according to the OS.
So you can change permissions for a folder and all the files in that folder, I did that to my VST and Component folder. You might be able to depending on how this problem happens change permisions to allow all to write to the user/Library/Audio/Presets/MOTU folder.
Personally I would take it all the way back to the Audio folder, but the basic operation is simple, do a "Get info" on the folder, in my case it shows my user name (me) with read and write privileges and 'everyone' with no access. Even if that's the same for you I would at least try giving temporarily 'everyone' read and write privileges. I had to do that to allow Audio Finder to move VSTs.

The thing is it could be anywhere along the path that permissions are messed up, and it's definitly possible that the OS thinks it's just fine, wont' correct it etc.
Mac Pro 12 core 3.33Ghz. 24G RAM, RME fireface 800, Remote SL, DP9, Live 9 Suite. Falcon, Diva, V-Colletion, NI Ultimate, Maschine, Spark, not enough time.
Michael Canavan
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: seattle
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby Armageddon » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:22 am

I'm sure it's been mentioned in this thread a few times (and it probably would have helped me greatly before installing the update to have read through it), but I had quite a scare when I installed 9.13 and not only would none of my projects load up, but they weren't even recognized by DP any longer. After trying a few things, I opened a new project and everything checked out, which only made not being able to open my 9.12 files more of a mystery. It was after quitting out of this untitled test project when I noticed that the test project I'd created in 9.13 had a brand new suffix I'd never seen before: ".dpdoc". Maybe this existed in v9.12, but I didn't have any problem opening DP projects that weren't labeled this way, nor did it appear to be saving projects with that suffix. I added the ".dpdoc" filetype suffix to my 9.12 project files and they opened with zero problem. I don't recall seeing anything about this in the release notes, and again, while some of you may not have experienced this problem, both 9.01 and 9.12 did not require reading from, nor did they save to ".dpdoc" files.

Oh, yeah, and while I haven't taken v9.13 for a proper test drive yet, all else appears to be well -- dare I say, even loading up more quickly than v9.12?
Late 2011 MacBook Pro Quad-core i7 2.2 GHz/16 GB RAM/1 TB SSD (primary)/1 TB 7200 rpm HDD (secondary) • OS X 10.12.4 • DP 9.13 • Pro Tools 12.7.1 • Wave Editor 1.5.8 • Triumph 2.5 • Avid MBox Pro 3G • Korg K61 • Armageddon Music/Love's Young Nightmare on MyspaceMy DP Projects on ReverbnationIMDb PageLinkedinStage 32 Profile
Armageddon
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:55 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:38 am

Armageddon wrote:...9.13 had a brand new suffix I'd never seen before: ".dpdoc"...


My files started getting .dpdoc extensions in 2013 (I just checked the production stuff from that and earlier, so it's been around quite a long time now.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.3; DP 9.02; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDI-Life-Crisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23817
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby JSmith1234567 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:33 am

James Steele wrote:
HCMarkus wrote:Maybe they fixed the pre-rendering engine so it works better... I am looking forward to installing 9.13 and finding out for myself.


I know, right? I mean imagine IF... :D

We now return you to doom and despair... :shock:


I'd love to take some days off and beta-test it and see if it works, then spend a day getting things back to 9.02-normal if it doesn't, but I have to work.
JSmith1234567
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:48 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby bleach30 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:58 am

Michael Canavan wrote: Personally I would take it all the way back to the Audio folder, but the basic operation is simple, do a "Get info" on the folder, in my case it shows my user name (me) with read and write privileges and 'everyone' with no access. Even if that's the same for you I would at least try giving temporarily 'everyone' read and write privileges. I had to do that to allow Audio Finder to move VSTs.

The thing is it could be anywhere along the path that permissions are messed up, and it's definitly possible that the OS thinks it's just fine, wont' correct it etc.




This is a great suggestion and something I hadn't thought about....unfortunately did not work. I went through all the paths associated with plugins and preferences etc..issue persists. FWIW the folders for the 3rd party plugins I can save to had the exact same permissions as the ones I can't save to.

I think I am the oddball on this one. But on two machines?? Come on sheesh..
bleach30
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Houston, TX.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby OLB » Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:04 am

bleach30 wrote:This is a great suggestion and something I hadn't thought about....unfortunately did not work. I went through all the paths associated with plugins and preferences etc..issue persists. FWIW the folders for the 3rd party plugins I can save to had the exact same permissions as the ones I can't save to.

I think I am the oddball on this one. But on two machines?? Come on sheesh..

If I remember correctly I created a folder called 'MOTU' in Library/Audio/Presets/
Hope this works!
- Len
DAW Mac Pro 6-core 2013 | 64Gb RAM | 10.11.6 | Metric Halo ULN-8
DP 9.12 | VE Pro 6 | Kontakt 5
OLB
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:37 am
Location: London, UK
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby mikehalloran » Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:58 am

I think I am the oddball on this one. But on two machines?? Come on sheesh..
Two machines with the same problem ... ok....

You copied the files over without zipping first. This has been an issue since DP 7.1 (and with Word, Apple installers and many other apps and file types). Doesn't matter if you copied them via Dropbox, sneaker net, network server, cloning etc. Had you used Migration Assistant or Time Machine restore, this wouldn't be a problem.

If you have access to your old Mac, zip the files, then copy them over and unzip onto your new machines. This will grant the proper privileges and permissions. If this is not possible, post here and I will give some suggestions.

Again, this also goes for MS Office, Adobe and many other file types.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.12.4
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07 64bit, DP 7.24; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.3, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8154
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 9.13 available

Postby Armageddon » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:41 am

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:My files started getting .dpdoc extensions in 2013 (I just checked the production stuff from that and earlier, so it's been around quite a long time now.


I never encountered it until yesterday, and I've been pretty religious about upgrading to the current version. It never showed up on my project files until now, nor did I ever have to type it in manually to open a DP project; the project files always opened without any problem or modification since v3. I also usually have my extensions hidden, so the ".dpdoc" extension may have been under the hood all this time and I just never noticed. The extension of the New file I created in 9.13 wasn't hidden. All very strange ... but simply typing in that extension allowed v9.13 to recognize and open all my project files.

It should also be noted that I just upgraded to Sierra from El Cap last weekend ... I'm wondering if that has something to do with it?
Late 2011 MacBook Pro Quad-core i7 2.2 GHz/16 GB RAM/1 TB SSD (primary)/1 TB 7200 rpm HDD (secondary) • OS X 10.12.4 • DP 9.13 • Pro Tools 12.7.1 • Wave Editor 1.5.8 • Triumph 2.5 • Avid MBox Pro 3G • Korg K61 • Armageddon Music/Love's Young Nightmare on MyspaceMy DP Projects on ReverbnationIMDb PageLinkedinStage 32 Profile
Armageddon
 
Posts: 1865
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:55 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

PreviousNext

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 5 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 3 guests

Login Form