It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:06 am
   
Text Size

Motu 828 mk2 screen problem possibly

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. for Mac OSX

Motu 828 mk2 screen problem possibly

Postby davebones » Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:28 pm

My screen lights up but no one is home. I am not sure if the sound still works
Does anyone know if this is a screen problem or if it is fixable?
http://djk777.tumblr.com/post/166509236401
davebones
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:13 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Motu 828 mk2 screen problem possibly

Postby mikehalloran » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:50 pm

These can have screen problems among other things. It is a screen that one can get from Mouser and is not proprietary. Whether that's the problem or a power supply, I don't know. There are no schematics or parts lists for these but knowledgable techs can figure out what parts will work.

If it's the backlight, try this:
http://www.niek.be/2015/07/17/how-to-fi ... -828-mkii/

If screen, start here:
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslu ... t-off.html

Let us know if you get it fixed including part numbers.

The newest of these is now 10 years old. I bought one of the last and it's still going strong (knock on wood).
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15.1
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Motu 828 mk2 screen problem possibly

Postby HCMarkus » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:23 pm

Thanks Mike... I have an almost-new spare which cost me $200 sitting in its box, for the day my trusty 828mk2 passes on.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 6169
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Motu 828 mk2 screen problem possibly

Postby mikehalloran » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:54 am

Other known issues are the FireWire ports (defective jacks or bad solder joints) and power supplies (bad capacitors etc.).

There are videos and threads on these but no comprehensive resource that I know. Google is your friend.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.4.1, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15.1
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to MOTU Hardware & Mac OSX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form