24.8 Mackie Mixer, 16+ interface options?

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. for Mac OSX
Trathoughts
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

24.8 Mackie Mixer, 16+ interface options?

Post by Trathoughts »

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the scene here and have been digging into the Motu market for a week or so to solve some of my I/O issues. Maybe some of you can clear the air so I can upgrade successfully.

Currently I have a modest setup for my plethora of keyboards, a bass, a guitar, drums and some vocals. I recently traded one of my old Leslie's for a Mackie 24.8 which has inspired me to set my studio up for a no nonsense, sit down and play/jam/write setup. I also currently have a Saffire Pro 26 I'd like to sell to a friend since (at the moment) 6 I/o isn't much to sneeze at with a mixer capable of much more routing options. Some of my colleagues have some nice setups for multitrack recording and requires very little in terms of setting up and focused more on playing; bring your favorite ax, snare drum, keyboard and just have fun.

Long story even longer, I'd like to utilize this mackie board to its fullest potential, eventually investing in some outboard compressors, effects and preamps, and ultimately have a "sound" and just have everyone come over and jam without thinking about what mic placement or what tones to dial in.