It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:44 pm
   
Text Size

Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. for Mac OSX

Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby iamkimosabi » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:23 pm

I have Ultralite MK3, and I cannot seem to find a way to seperate the monitors and headphone mix in the CueMix.

Id like to be able to turn down the monitors through Cuemix, and listen only on the headphones. So I won't have to turn off the monitors everytime I am tracking. How do I do this?
iamkimosabi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:54 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby stephentayler » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:07 am

You need to check the MOTU Audio Setup, where the Phones can be linked to any output, or remain independent.

Cheers

Stephen
Stephen W Tayler: Sound Artist
http://www.chimera-arts.com
http://ostinatomusic.com
http://stephentayler.com

Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8Ghz 16Gb RAM, MacBook Pro, 2Gb RAM, OSX 10.8.4, DP 8.04, PT10 & 11, Logic 9.1.8, MOTU Traveler, Ultralite Mk 3 Hybrid, MC MIx, MOTU VIs, Waves, Izotope Everything, Spectrasonics, SoundToys, Slate, Softube, NI Vintage Compressors, spl Surround Monitor Controller, spl Auditor Headphone amp, Genelec 1031A, 1029 5.1 system, Sontronics Mics, iPad etc..
stephentayler
 
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Box, Wiltshire, UK
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby NazRat » Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:46 am

If it's the same as the 828mk3 - if you have the monitor button in the outputs tab selected, the monitor volume control in CueMix will control the output of the channel. So if you have both the mains and phones monitor button on, they are linked. Deselect the monitor button for the phones output and that may be the result you're looking for.
DP8.06 PT11.2.0 VEP 5.3.x
828mkII 828mk3 ADA8000 MTP-AV Komplete Audio 6
Mac Mini Quad 10.9.4 - HP Quad Laptop Win 8.1
NazRat
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:55 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby stephentayler » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:06 am

Also the Phones menu in CueMix follows the MOTU Audio Setup settings....

Stephen
Stephen W Tayler: Sound Artist
http://www.chimera-arts.com
http://ostinatomusic.com
http://stephentayler.com

Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8Ghz 16Gb RAM, MacBook Pro, 2Gb RAM, OSX 10.8.4, DP 8.04, PT10 & 11, Logic 9.1.8, MOTU Traveler, Ultralite Mk 3 Hybrid, MC MIx, MOTU VIs, Waves, Izotope Everything, Spectrasonics, SoundToys, Slate, Softube, NI Vintage Compressors, spl Surround Monitor Controller, spl Auditor Headphone amp, Genelec 1031A, 1029 5.1 system, Sontronics Mics, iPad etc..
stephentayler
 
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Box, Wiltshire, UK
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby iamkimosabi » Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:05 pm

I have my routing in Motu Audio Set Up like this...

Default Stereo Output Main out 1-2 (Studio Monitors)
Phones Assign Main Out 1-2
Main Out Assign Main Out 1-2
Return Assign Main Out 1-2


I still can't figure out how to be able to turn down the monitors, and just listen to it in the headphones...when I put the Phones Assign on Phones 1-2...nothing comes out of the headphones...so I put it back to Main out 1-2 ...but the master volume knob turns down both the studio monitors and the headphones..
iamkimosabi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:54 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:41 pm

And here too! Jason from the Polo outfit. What a freakin' dorky way to sell crap.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X.1 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16_____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20671
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby James Steele » Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:18 pm

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:And here too! Jason from the Polo outfit. What a freakin' dorky way to sell crap.


Yeah... they managed to post two messages. I've deleted them and removed them. Of course, as usual, a "gmail.com" address was used to create the account here. This was why I blocked the whole damned gmail.com domain and then took heat for it till I relented. Now these spammer types get in sometimes.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.10, ATI 5770, DP 8.07, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 15175
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby NazRat » Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:05 am

iamkimosabi wrote:I have my routing in Motu Audio Set Up like this...

Default Stereo Output Main out 1-2 (Studio Monitors)
Phones Assign Main Out 1-2
Main Out Assign Main Out 1-2
Return Assign Main Out 1-2


If you have the phones mirror another output via the assign, then I don't believe there is any way to separate them. What I've started to do is route everything through an Aux ahead of the master - a submaster. That way if you need to route the same mix to another output pair(s), you can do it via the sends. Just make sure the monitor level isn't linked in the monitor section and you'll be able to control the volumes separately. Turning off the monitors (as you've stated) is the easiest or a monitor controller (i.e. Big Knob) is an alternate solution.
DP8.06 PT11.2.0 VEP 5.3.x
828mkII 828mk3 ADA8000 MTP-AV Komplete Audio 6
Mac Mini Quad 10.9.4 - HP Quad Laptop Win 8.1
NazRat
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:55 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby iamkimosabi » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:26 pm

The problem is, I don't know what else output to route the phones to.
All of the signal in Pro Tools is routed to the Main 1-2. So therefor if I was to route to another output, there would be no sound.
iamkimosabi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:54 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Cannot Seperate Monitors and Headphones

Postby NazRat » Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:13 pm

This video is basically the routing through the aux that I use now. You'll see what the advantages are, but also you can use the sends on the submix aux to send your mix to another output pair on your interface. That way in MOTU Audio Setup, you'd just assign the Phones to themselves and use send to Phones 1-2 on the submix aux. It's a cheap and easy way to throw another monitor mix out there. Play with it.

http://therecordingrevolution.com/2011/04/06/master-faders-in-pro-tools-video/
DP8.06 PT11.2.0 VEP 5.3.x
828mkII 828mk3 ADA8000 MTP-AV Komplete Audio 6
Mac Mini Quad 10.9.4 - HP Quad Laptop Win 8.1
NazRat
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:55 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to MOTU Hardware & Mac OSX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form