It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 2:23 pm
   
Text Size

Ethno and Sonar PE6, The silence is deafening

Moderator: James Steele

Ethno and Sonar PE6, The silence is deafening

Postby yorolpal » Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:01 am

While I had no problems with Ethno in Sonar 5, using Sonar 6 is proving very problematic as far as Ethno is concerned. When the GUI pops up I get terrible "static" through my speakers which lasts until the GUI is closed. Also even tho the program works it is glitchy. Worse tho is that any project that I've used Ethno in in Sonar 6.2.1 won't reload at all until I disable Ethno in Sonar's "safe" mode. Are there any new drivers coming down the pike or a workaround for these issues? Seems like several folks have asked similar questions only to hear the sound of silence here. Doesn't anybody have a clue?
There are only two kinds of people in this world. Me. And everybody else.
yorolpal
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 7:50 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Postby yorolpal » Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:31 am

Hey James Steel. As moderator here, do you have any info regarding Ethno and Sonar 6.2.1? Because no one else seems to. Or any info on MOTU products (I use the Ultralite) and PCs in general or Sonar in specific? Cause it's pretty slim pickings over on the hardware forum too. Does anyone who actually works for MOTU in a technical capacity ever, you know, like look at the threads on the various forums here and, oh, I don't know, say, answer someones questions. Ever? Sorry if I'm being coy but you should come over to the Sonar forum sometime. Honest. The peer to peer help on almost any issue is quick, usually on target, and very helpful. And the folks at Cakewalk regularly view and respond to questions and concerns. I realize also there is a perception (I share it) that MOTU regards PC users in let's just say a slightly dimmer light. But we represent a substantial part of your market. A little help now and again would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
There are only two kinds of people in this world. Me. And everybody else.
yorolpal
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 7:50 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Postby yorolpal » Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:58 am

Hey James, sorry, I owe you an apology. Sort of. I still feel that you should pay much more attention to PC users questions and concerns here but I now see that this forum is NOT sponsored or run by MOTU. My bad. So here's a question you probably can answer. Are there any MOTU sponsored/run forums that might deal with PC users? Their tech support, while useful, is cumbersome and sometimes downright unhelpful. Thanks for any info and, again, sorry for the confusion.
There are only two kinds of people in this world. Me. And everybody else.
yorolpal
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 7:50 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Postby shang » Fri Aug 17, 2007 9:34 pm

Is there anyone using Sonar 6 that actually has Ethno working? If I load Ethno as a DXi, it loads a blank window. If I load it as a VSTi, it actually causes Sonar to dump out to Windows. I just submitted a support request to MOTU about this. We'll see how long it takes to get a useful response.
So long, and thanks for all the fish...
Shang
shang
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: MN, USA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

indeed

Postby vurt » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:45 pm

[quote="shang"]Is there anyone using Sonar 6 that actually has Ethno working? If I load Ethno as a DXi, it loads a blank window. If I load it as a VSTi, it actually causes Sonar to dump out to Windows. I just submitted a support request to MOTU about this. We'll see how long it takes to get a useful response.[/quote]

I am in agreement with the previous statements.
I have the exact same problems with Ethno & M5V2 as a plugin in Sonar 6.20 Sonar 6.21 and ableton live 5 and i use an Ultralite on Intel Firewire.


it works in stand alone only
as a softsynth plug-in it only draws the control window itself
vurt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:28 pm
Location: San Diego
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Postby shang » Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:17 pm

You're not going to like my answer. I never got any response from MOTU. And somewhere along the line it just started working for me. I think I reinstalled but I can't remember exactly what all I did. Sorry.
So long, and thanks for all the fish...
Shang
shang
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: MN, USA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Postby James Steele » Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:19 am

yorolpal wrote:Hey James, sorry, I owe you an apology. Sort of. I still feel that you should pay much more attention to PC users questions and concerns here but I now see that this forum is NOT sponsored or run by MOTU. My bad. So here's a question you probably can answer. Are there any MOTU sponsored/run forums that might deal with PC users? Their tech support, while useful, is cumbersome and sometimes downright unhelpful. Thanks for any info and, again, sorry for the confusion.


Ummm... I'm glad you found an answer and realized that I'm just a volunteer and this board is in no way affiliated with MOTU and I'm not a MOTU employee (although I've played one on television... just kidding!). Also, I'm a Mac user and have been for quite a long time and really don't know the first thing about Windows. Windows users like yourself sort of showed up here and most of the discussion went on in the MOTU Hardware forum and I split it off into a Windows section as a means to help, but I can't do more than that... I just don't have the time.

This is primarily a Mac oriented board. I don't mean any disrespect to the Windows users who come here, but that's just the reality of it because most of the board membership including myself are Mac users. I think most board that deal with MOTU hardware/software are likely to be Mac-centric so long as Digital Performer is a Mac-only sequencer.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.9.4, ATI 5770, DP 8.06, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14836
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Postby shang » Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:40 am

I wasn't referring to this board. I was talking about the actual MOTU Tech Support, or lack there of. I have no complaints about people who are willing to help, especially volunteers. I think this board is actually pretty great, even if it's mostly Mac. :wink:
So long, and thanks for all the fish...
Shang
shang
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: MN, USA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Postby carrythebanner » Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:17 am

shang wrote:Is there anyone using Sonar 6 that actually has Ethno working? If I load Ethno as a DXi, it loads a blank window. If I load it as a VSTi, it actually causes Sonar to dump out to Windows. I just submitted a support request to MOTU about this. We'll see how long it takes to get a useful response.

Try turning off the X-Ray feature – some plug-ins work well with it, some don't. You can turn off X-Ray globally, or edit some .ini file to opt-out individual plug-ins.
"I don't see any method at all, sir."
carrythebanner
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: North America
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to Ethno (Windows)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form