how does EK assign MIDI ins?

Discussion of all things related to MOTU's Electric Keys virtual instrument.

Moderator: James Steele

otalgia-2000
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

how does EK assign MIDI ins?

Post by otalgia-2000 »

greetings

i am just beginning to use instrument plug-ins and appeal to you all for some newbie-advice.

i am trying to run multiple (in this case, 3) instances of EK in one project, but ran into some problems with audio quality (namely, "broken-up" or "scratchy" sounding playback).

appealing to the general DP board, i was advised to assign different channels to the the MIDI outs and i have done so. however, i can't see how to assign MIDI ins on the EK instrument tracks themselves.

if i jam all three MIDI outs down "Electric Keys 1 : A-1", i can hear everything but the poor sound quality noted above is derived.

on the other hand, if i set the MIDI outs to "EK 1 : A-1"; "EK 2 : A-2"; & "EK 3 : A-3" respectively, instrument tracks 2 & 3 receive no input (while all 3 MIDI tracks themselves continue to happily generate data).

i've scoured around the MOTU site and my install discs for documentation but i couldn't find anything like a full manual. i've opened and scrutinized every parameter i can click on but so far i've arrived at nothing that seems to define a connection between EK instrument tracks and any particular incoming MIDI channel. (i thought perhaps that setting up a bundle in the instrument tab of the bundles window would do it but bundles doesn't seem to know about electric keys particularly.)

i'm using a reasonably robust system: mac pro (early 08) 8-core; 10Gb RAM; the EK library is streamed via firewire 800 from an exteral lacie quadra.

the advice i got about using separate MIDI channels makes a lot of sense to me; i think i'm just missing the boat on how to tell the EK tracks to look in the right place for incoming data.

any help warmly appreciated

O-2K