Creating Realistic String Arpeggiations W/O Score Sheet?

Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory, etc...

Moderators: Frodo, FMiguelez, MIDI Life Crisis

Forum rules
Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory and the art of creating music in all forms from orchestral film scores to pop/rock.
Explojoseph
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Creating Realistic String Arpeggiations W/O Score Sheet?

Post by Explojoseph »

Using: Logic Pro 9, EWQL Hollywood Strings Diamond (without an expressions pedal), LA Scoring Strings.

If you've never worked with EWQL Hollywood Strings or LA Scoring Strings, there's a chance you may not be able to answer my question.

I'm trying to create realistic string arpeggiations using only the "Piano Roll" (as it's called in Logic Pro). I have very little experience with theory and reading music, so composing with Logic's native scoring function is just not going to be an option.

I've heard people before who can't read music, but can still create very realistic sounding orchestrations simply through their knowledge of audio engineering. So, I know it's possible...

First of all, you should hear my attempt at creating a realistic string arpeggiation:

https://soundcloud.com/joeycopenhaver/s ... r-learning

This example is using EWQL Hollywood Strings Diamond. It sounds like crap. Not the software. Hollywood Strings is incredible. But, whatever it is I'm doing, I'm doing it wrong. It sounds wayyyy too synthetic.