828 MK3 GLITCH WORKAROUND CUBASE

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
PaPyKoG
Primary DAW OS: Windows

828 MK3 GLITCH WORKAROUND CUBASE

Post by PaPyKoG »

Let me start by saying MOTU need to step up their game in driver support, the last drivers for the 828 mk3 hybrid were released in 2015? Ca'mon guys, that is lame.

I have been having a major issue with Cubase 8.5 and the 828 mk3, pops and crackles, drop outs and even BSOD. It started when I set up a shortcut in Cubase to run the Izotope RX5 in the background for fixing bad audio. That is what it is designed for so you can use the RX connect on the fly to fix audio then send it back to the project. I am a sound designer and do a lot of mixing for films.

I tried a PCIE firewire card, re-installing drivers and changing from USB to firewire back and forth, buffer sizes, rolling back drivers, different PCIE slots and so on...

The work around for the glitchyness was to set the default audio output in windows 7 to Motu Main Out, then the RX5 to Motu Main Out then when I started Cubase set that to Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver which you can choose to run through the Motu Main Out. The glitches stopped, granted the latency is awful (40ms) but for editing and mixing it is fine. Then if I want to record I can make sure the RX5 is not running, change Cubase back to Motu ASIO Main Out and choose a low buffer size.

This is my workaround for editing in Cubase using the 828 mk3 Hybrid. I was so close to forking out £580 for an RME Raydat card and using the 828 through the Adat, glad I could figure it out as I am in the middle of several projects and it was becoming a nightmare.

I just wanted to let people know in case other people can use this workaround, hope this helps.
terrybritton

Re: 828 MK3 GLITCH WORKAROUND CUBASE

Post by terrybritton »