It's oh so quiet - Audio Express + SM7B (noob alert)

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
pedro01
Primary DAW OS: Windows

It's oh so quiet - Audio Express + SM7B (noob alert)

Post by pedro01 »

Hi

I'm pretty new to all this, so prepare to suck in deep breaths as I walk all over the terminology.

I've got myself a new Shure SM7B and an Audio Express. I do a lot of internet based radio shows and webinars and wanted to upgrade from the poor sound I get from headsets (plus I am male and wanted new toys). Plus I am in a "2 pin" country and my PC isn't earthed and there was buzzing on the sound card.

So I'm set up - but the mic is so quiet. I'm testing it on Skype and recording software called Audacity. This is with the USB connection to the PC.

On the recording software, I select "MOTU Mic/Instrument 1-2" or "MOTU Mix 1 Return 1-2" either way, the audio is barely audible.

Both seem to be set to 100% output in Windows...

I've tested both the MIC and the MIC/Audio Express wired up to an AMP and that seems to be OK - although hardly what I need.

I can also hook it up to my PCs sound card (and suffer the buzzing) and I think I'm getting a boost there.

When I plug the mic in - it only gives me 22bB of trim control, which I presume is because that's just for condenser mics.

I'm at a loss here. Is this a matter of needing more kit or is this combination something that should give me reasonable output for use in PC recording applications?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Cheers

Pete
mikehalloran
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: It's oh so quiet - Audio Express + SM7B (noob alert)

Post by mikehalloran »

OK, I assume that you have the Mic gain turned up all the way on the Audio Express, right?