Motu 8pre standalone dsp

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
Commander
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Motu 8pre standalone dsp

Post by Commander »

Hey guys. I'm new to motu/recording interfaces in general. I recently was given a track16. Love it to no end, however, I want to be able to record drums. The 8pre looks good. My question is. Once you program cuemix eq/compressor/reverb etc. on a laptop with the 8pre connected and save those settings, if you disconnect the laptop, and turn off/on the 8pre, will it operate as a standalone unit with those settings set permanently? or does it always have to be connected to the laptop? The reason i ask is a: i'd like to record drums, and b: i'd like to have it sitting next to my kit to replace the mixer that's there, and then people can't go changing settings on me :)

thanks for your help!
mikehalloran
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Motu 8pre standalone dsp

Post by mikehalloran »

Commander wrote:Hey guys. I'm new to motu/recording interfaces in general. I recently was given a track16. Love it to no end, however, I want to be able to record drums. The 8pre looks good. My question is. Once you program cuemix eq/compressor/reverb etc. on a laptop with the 8pre connected and save those settings, if you disconnect the laptop, and turn off/on the 8pre, will it operate as a standalone unit with those settings set permanently? or does it always have to be connected to the laptop? The reason i ask is a: i'd like to record drums, and b: i'd like to have it sitting next to my kit to replace the mixer that's there, and then people can't go changing settings on me :)

thanks for your help!
What you are telling us is how you want to do something but leaving out exactly what you are trying to accomplish. I'll give it a go.