It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:50 am
   
Text Size

Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows

Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby rodeath » Fri May 18, 2012 6:12 pm

Greetings friends,
I'm having a weird problem I do not understand how it can happen.
i have ultralite motu mk3 which is normally functioning.
But when I plug my USB Akai mpk25 at the usb port, in about one minute this deactivate the motu in computer .The drivers stop working. And they only go back to work when I take the akai usb, and turn on and off the drivers in windows. Any one know what is this?
rodeath
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 6:09 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby torrentg » Fri May 18, 2012 9:10 pm

Hi,

There's a few reasons this could be happening, the most likely being bandwidth.

For that, I recommend that you run your Hybrid using the firewire IEEE 1394 connection instead. If you don't have a firewire port, a fairly inexpensive add-on firewire card would do well in an available PCI or PCI-e slot.

Other than that, update the motherboard bios to latest, from the manufacturer's website. While there, also download the latest chipset motherboard drivers and install.

Also install the latest MOTU driver, for good measure, if you didn't install this version yet: http://www.motu.com/download/windows-downloads.html
torrentg
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:18 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby rodeath » Sat May 19, 2012 8:43 am

hey torrentg thanks so much for the reply.
im try to install the last MOTU driver, but without success.
Now im try to update the motherboard bios.
you think it will only be possible work together if I install a PCI firewire input hardware on my computer?
I had a usb interface before motu, and it did not happen.
rodeath
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 6:09 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby torrentg » Sat May 19, 2012 10:02 am

What's the issue with installing newest MOTU driver? What's the error shown?

You can attach a screenshot if you'd like.
torrentg
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:18 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby rodeath » Sat May 19, 2012 11:04 am

motu driver was success. But not solved the problem with motu and mpk25.
you think that update the motherboard bios can solve?
This is not good man, i used other interface before with usb and its never happen.
Thanks so much torrentg.
Best,
rodeath
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 6:09 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby torrentg » Sat May 19, 2012 12:29 pm

Bios update and chipset driver update are always good and you should do both, but unlikely to help.

As above, a cheap firewire card would do your machine and setup well.
torrentg
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:18 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby rodeath » Sat May 19, 2012 1:15 pm

so, if i buy a pci firewire, its solve my problem?
rodeath
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 6:09 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby torrentg » Sat May 19, 2012 6:33 pm

rodeath wrote:so, if i buy a pci firewire, its solve my problem?


You will be happy, short-term and long.

Don't forget to get a 6 pin to 6 pin firewire cable too, rated at 400 mbps - like this - http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=5413

Something cheap like this will do the job excellent:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... &CatId=510
torrentg
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:18 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Ultralite mk3 Hybrid Problem

Postby rodeath » Mon May 21, 2012 3:53 pm

Thanks my brother.
I tried a few things before buy the PCI bacause where I live is not have to buy a PCI card. But I will order one on the internet.
I put a usb hub with the AKai mpk and if i turn it on before to turn on the MOTU, its not work and continues the problem. But if i turn on the Akai after the MOTU, its work nice.
Do you think this may cause a problem?


Other thing, I have to get some information on my computer before buying a PCI card? How to have input on the motherboard, some compatibility, or something like that?
I hope was clear.
Bests man

EDIT :I was wrong, everything was working, but now that i turn it on, the problem continued even doing what I described above: (

So i really try this PCI Firewire, i hope this is save me
Thanks
rodeath
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 6:09 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to MOTU Hardware & Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form