Massive volume jump with 8pre

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
nickportus
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Massive volume jump with 8pre

Post by nickportus »

Hi, sorry if this has been answered before, I did a search and couldn't find anyone with the same problem.

I'm also pretty new to this stuff too so apologies if I miss anything out.

I have an 8pre running on Windows 7 64bit. I'm running Sonar 8.5PE, Reason 4, and FL Studio and I'm having the same issue in each of them.

Basically, the unit runs fine for a few minutes, until I get a series of pops in the outputs (both headphone and main outs), then immediately after the gain just goes through the roof. I can't do anything about it on Cuemix, the only way I can get a working level is to reduce the output level on Sonar/Reason etc to almost nothing.

I can't see what's causing this to happen. I have the latest firmware and firewire drivers, and have changed to the legacy version (as I was getting the buzzing noise like many others)

Any ideas?

Cheers
vcshishya

Re: Massive volume jump with 8pre

Post by vcshishya »

I just bought an 8pre, had the same massive volume thing, but since I had just bought it from Sweetwater, they replaced it. I am getting clicking with my new replacement. Maybe these things are unstable overall?
Svendheim

Post by Svendheim »

My experience:

Anything but Windows XP or Mac OS is totally unusable for my Motu device. In XP and OSX the 8pre works like a charm, but in Vista/7 I get pops, crackles, massive volume thing and white noise all of the time.

I'm extremely disappointed with MOTU's products and I urge all prospective buyers who use Windows to search for a different brand.
paddykahn

Post by paddykahn »