It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:32 am
   
Text Size

Can I daisy chain a MKI Ultralite with a MKIII?

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows

Can I daisy chain a MKI Ultralite with a MKIII?

Postby Beagle » Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:59 am

Subject pretty much says it all. I currently have a MKIII Ultralite and looking to expand my I/O. There are MKI's on ebay for about 1/2 the price of the MKIII's new, so I was hoping I could get a used MKI and daisy chain the MKIII thru it (MKIII doesn't have 2 firewire ports, only 1, so the MKI would have to be the one chaining the MKIII).

I'm using win7x64 i5 with 16G DDR3 if that makes any difference. I've never owned a MKI, so I don't know if the drivers are compatible or not.
Beagle
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:59 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Can I daisy chain a MKI Ultralite with a MKIII?

Postby torrentg » Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:19 am

Drivers are compatible.

Since the driver is installed already for your MK3, you wouldn't need to do anything with software at all. Just hook it all up physically and it will work.
torrentg
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:18 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Can I daisy chain a MKI Ultralite with a MKIII?

Postby Beagle » Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:46 am

fantastic! thanks!
Beagle
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:59 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to MOTU Hardware & Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form