"Improvised Orchestral Art Song #1"

Share music created in Digital Performer
Forum rules
This forum is where you can post links to sound files of your projects created in Digital Performer in order to get feedback. You may also plug your band and announce live performances.
zuul-studios
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

"Improvised Orchestral Art Song #1"

Post by zuul-studios »

Hello -

I am in the process of creating and refining a new orchestral templet using updated/upgraded and new orchestral libraries. (Prior to this new orchestral templet, I've been using variations of an older one for about 7+ years.) The VIs used are from the following orchestral libraries: VSL's Special Edition, East-West's Hollywood Orchestra Complete Bundle, GPO and MusicLab. The DAW used was DP 9 (of course) with VEPro 5 in a two-computer set-up.

This piece is "improvised". In other words, melody, harmony and "orchestration" were done off the top of my head rather than putting "pencil to blank manuscript paper" as I would normally do. It's my first piece using the set-up along with DP 9 and I am still in the process of refining it for future projects.

To be clear, my musical background is mostly in composition with little to no formal training in sound engineering. I think that I am giving up in creating that realistic orchestral sound as a number of members, here, seem capable of doing. Creating such a realistic orchestral sound seems way beyond my capabilities without going back for further formal training of some kind. Rather, I am going for a somewhat close approximation to what an well-recorded orchestra might sound like, balance between the instruments and instrumental sections, clarity, and a certain level of "depth of sound" (front to back).

I am sharing this piece for two reasons: 1) For you general enjoyment (hopefully), and 2) feedback on the mix as a whole. ANY suggestions in creating a better overall sound would be greatly appreciated.

Just click on the "SoundCloud" link.