RTAS plug in not showing in Pro Tools 8

Discussion of all things related to the MOTU Symphonic Instrument.

Moderator: James Steele

houdinimusic
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

RTAS plug in not showing in Pro Tools 8

Post by houdinimusic »

Hey all,
I'm a newbie here. I just bought MSI. I upgraded the version off the MOTU website for my Windows Vista 32 bit OS. I have Pro Tools LE 8 on an MBox2Pro. Not that that should matter so much. I installed MSI, the stand-alone application runs and I can see it getting signals from my MIDI piano keyboard.

My problem is is that after I've created a Stereo instrument track in PT, and try to insert a multi-channel instrument plug-in (tried the multi-mono also)....PT 8 isn't even LISTING the MSI plug in!

Any help you can offer would be great. I seem to notice that at least others are seeing it in their insert menu, but I am not. Hopefully this is something stupidly obvious. I'm a relative newbie to Pro Tools as well.

I've posted this same question on the Digidesign Forum as well.

Thanks, Scott
carrythebanner
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: RTAS plug in not showing in Pro Tools 8

Post by carrythebanner »

Not exactly what you're seeing, but this tech note from MOTU.com seems related:
Pro Tools Performance Issues with MOTU RTAS VIs

You could also try loading the MSI sounds in UVI Workstation.
"I don't see any method at all, sir."
houdinimusic

Post by houdinimusic »

Great, thanks for the info. I think I had seen that tech note another time, but had forgotten about it.

I will look into the UVI Workstation, seems like many people have used it through that successfully. :)

Thanks, Scott
houdinimusic

Post by houdinimusic »

Well, the UVI Workstation worked like a charm. Found it as a plug-in in Pro Tools, put the MSI.dat in the soundback, voila....no problem. Wow. How easy was that! And FREE!!!! Holy cow....that's awesome! Now I want to get the MOTU Ethno program.

Thanks the tips!
tdblanchard

Post by tdblanchard »