Help! Unable to open DP

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
donreynolds
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Help! Unable to open DP

Post by donreynolds »

Hey guys and girls.
I have been away from the board and recording for a couple of years while I finished my university graduate degree. Just finished. Woo hoo.
I was eager to get back to my recording again...
But As I began to fire up my DP software the Woo hoo turned in to Oh no.
I am running a 2 x 2.93 quad core MacPro with Yosemite 10.10.5 OS. I have x2 Black lion 896HD interface units running in parallel using Black Lion word clock input at 48khz.
I downloaded all the most recent Motu software versions just to make sure I was current.

A little history...
My last version that I had running with no problems was 7.24. I fired it up and it did well. When DP 8 came out, I bought it but never installed it. ( I was too busy). When I did get time to install it, It had problems loading. I contacted motu and they suggested that I just get DP 9 as I was allowed the upgrade free. I did. I had problems on install. It kept hanging on start up and I would have to force quit.
I also at the same time had a weird problem with my webpage search feature on safari, Chrome, and firefox hanging up as soon as I tried to search the web. When I disconnected my external back up drives, the internet search worked fine. I figured it was a conflict with my hard drive or back ups that I had online. I ended up erasing my back up and using CCC, I cloned the original. That took care of the problem.