My biggest DP issue: MIDI automation

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
Gabe S.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

My biggest DP issue: MIDI automation

Post by Gabe S. »

Hi.

(This is not going to be easy to explain so I've also made a video to illustrate.)

I've been using DP for a loonng time. I make my living on DP creating trailer music with big templates. I don't post a lot, but I've been around for quite awhile. DP is my main music writing program and it's nice in a lot of ways. That's why I use it.

But there is one aspect of DP that just does not work correctly in my opinion and the problem is that it's not just a minor nuisance, it's a mix KILLER. But I never hear anyone else talk about it. So, I'm trying to see if this bothers other people so a bunch of us can ask MOTU to do something about it.

I'll start by making a request and then get into the problem: Please just make the MIDI automation work like the audio automation.

Here's the problem: On the MIDI side of the app, while playing a sequence: in the measures before you arrive at a user's first automation point, DP moves parameters to preset settings, instead of leaving the settings where you had set that particular parameter. So, let's say the song starts at Measure 1 and your volume was set by you at 14 without any automation present or even having the automation turned on. And then you turn automation on and while playing, at Measure 5, you touch the volume slider for the first time to raise the audio a little bit from MIDI volume 14 to 20-----then on the next playback from Measure 1, the MIDI volume will jump to 127 until it hits your automation point at Measure 5 and then it dives down to 14 to perform your automation move. It messes your mix up.