Resolved: DP8: Virtual Instruments not showing up

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
Call to Adventure
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Post by Call to Adventure »

Hello,
I'm very new to DP. I've been a hobbyist in lesser-grade software (i.e. Garageband and Garritan Personal Orchestra), but as soon as budget permits I want to move up to higher-grade instrument libraries and get into semi-pro scoring of motion pictures.

Based on research, DP seems to be best for scoring to picture, so I figured I'd download their 30-day trial version and start learning it so I can hit the ground running when I'm able to purchase. Problem is, I can't even begin to audition the program because no matter what I do, I can't get Garritan instruments to show up as an option for loading a VI as a plug-in.

When I go to the Project menu and try to add an Instrument Track, nothing from Garritan is listed as an option. I've spent hours searching for a solution online, and have tried many things, including some great suggestions from past posts to this forum ... but nothing has solved the problem. (So far I've tried deleting the com.apple.audiounits cache file, re-installing GPO4, re-installing DP ... in desperation and based only on an ignorant whim, I even tried installing GPO4 into the Library/Audio/Plug-Ins folder.)

No matter what I try, it seems that the only manufacturers listed under the 'add an Instrument Track' command are: Insert Settings, Apple, and MOTU. I've tried adding an unassigned instrument, but can't make sense of the parts of the manual that claim to tell you how to instantiate a VI patch from the Mixing Board.