It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:28 am
   
Text Size

Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby zandurian » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:49 pm

... in fact I found that freezing single audio tracks with a Melodyne plug inserted is pretty much a real time affair as a 5 minute song takes about 5 minutes to freeze. To test whether Melodyne was involved I opened a small (30 audio tracks - no VIs) project just to test the freeze speed and freezing a mono track with NO EFFECTS at all took just as long! I really would expect a faster freeze with a 2009 eight core computer with 12 gigs of RAM running 64bit with an SSD bootup drive and 7200 RPM project hard drive. The CPU and playback seem to be idling along under no duress whatsoever. I even disabled all tracks except for the one I was freezing and still pretty much the same result.

Thoughts?
----------------------------------
Mac Pro 4,1 (early 2009) 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 12 gigs RAM, OS 10.8.3, DP8.04, UAD2e, Superior drummer 2, Mach 5-2,Mach 5-3, Ivory, PCIe 424, BL modded 24i/o, MIDI express XT, unisyn, Melodyne 2.1.0, Izotope RX2
zandurian
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: san antonio TX
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:57 pm

Freezing is essentially realtime bouncing. Bouncing takes less time. Freezing always processed realtime.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X.1 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16_____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20783
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby buzzsmith » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:51 am

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:Freezing is essentially realtime bouncing. Bouncing takes less time. Freezing always processed realtime.

Yep.
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (late 2009) OS X 10.6.8 OS X 10.8.5 SSD (Dual booting) (8 gigs RAM)
DP 8.01 / DP 8.06 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O
MTP-AV
Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)
LASS 2.5, Altiverb 7, EWQLSO (Gold), Spectrasonics (3), UAD-2 Solo, Ivory, Waves 9, Nomad, BFD2, Real Guitar 3, Kontakt 5, KH Strings, SS Drums, Superior Drummer, AutoTune 7, Blue Cat DP Meter Pro, etc.
Diminishing hardware MIDI devices.
User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2564
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby doodles » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:21 pm

yep. read manual if you want full explanation, but freezing IS realtime - you can't make it go faster.
2*8-core 3.0 (16 gigs RAM), 2*dual 2.5 (8 gigs RAM), DP 7.24, WAVES 9, Lexicon plugs, SoundToys, all Spectrasonics, NI Komplete 9, Vienna Ensemble (extended), LASS, Evolve, Symphobia, etc, Cinesamples, Arturia.
User avatar
doodles
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Scotland / LA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:27 pm

There's a manual? :shock:
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X.1 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16_____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20783
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby zandurian » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:27 pm

doodles wrote:yep. read manual if you want full explanation, but freezing IS realtime - you can't make it go faster.
Wow - I had no idea and still have no idea why that would be. I guess the manual will explain that too. Except I probably won't take the time since I have to read it in real time. :oops:
----------------------------------
Mac Pro 4,1 (early 2009) 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 12 gigs RAM, OS 10.8.3, DP8.04, UAD2e, Superior drummer 2, Mach 5-2,Mach 5-3, Ivory, PCIe 424, BL modded 24i/o, MIDI express XT, unisyn, Melodyne 2.1.0, Izotope RX2
zandurian
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: san antonio TX
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby zandurian » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:32 pm

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:Freezing is essentially realtime bouncing. Bouncing takes less time. Freezing always processed realtime.
Then why would anyone ever freeze instead of bounce? Is these an old feature from when early VIs could not be bounced in anyway except in real time? I think I first started using freeze when a bounced superior drummer2 bounced track was off but the freeze was tight. Yet the manual claims bouncing will work with VIs and it mostly does but the superior drummer thing proved not always.

Okay - I'm going to read the manual now (something I do everyday now)
----------------------------------
Mac Pro 4,1 (early 2009) 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 12 gigs RAM, OS 10.8.3, DP8.04, UAD2e, Superior drummer 2, Mach 5-2,Mach 5-3, Ivory, PCIe 424, BL modded 24i/o, MIDI express XT, unisyn, Melodyne 2.1.0, Izotope RX2
zandurian
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: san antonio TX
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:35 pm

zandurian wrote:Then why would anyone ever freeze instead of bounce?


It used to be that you couldn't bounce a VI but you could freeze it. Some people think bouncing not as reliable as realtime, so you have an option. I bounce. Or is that iBounce? iDon'tKnow.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X.1 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16_____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20783
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby zandurian » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:14 am

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:
zandurian wrote:Then why would anyone ever freeze instead of bounce?


It used to be that you couldn't bounce a VI but you could freeze it. Some people think bouncing not as reliable as realtime, so you have an option. I bounce. Or is that iBounce? iDon'tKnow.
It is more reliable with certain VIs which I guess makes it the VIs fault? But freeze or bounce should (ideally - apparently not in DP) happen as fast as the drives and processor are capable of freezing or bouncing without introducing problems, right?

So my guess is that Freeze exists as a slow, plodding way to get plugs with sucky bounce behavior to be bounce to audio. Make sense?

I used to just arm tracks and record them real time as the song played. At least that way if it screwed up I wouldn't have to listen to the whole song again to find out the bad news.
----------------------------------
Mac Pro 4,1 (early 2009) 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 12 gigs RAM, OS 10.8.3, DP8.04, UAD2e, Superior drummer 2, Mach 5-2,Mach 5-3, Ivory, PCIe 424, BL modded 24i/o, MIDI express XT, unisyn, Melodyne 2.1.0, Izotope RX2
zandurian
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: san antonio TX
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby mikehalloran » Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:05 am

Or is that iBounce?
I think iBounce is $1.99 in the App Store.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.10
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.07 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.0.7 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 12.0
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 4337
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby doodles » Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:54 pm

here's an example of when you would freeze:

Take a finished sequence containing 25 or 30 instances of VI's. (eg. VE Pro, Omnisphere, etc). Each has 16 mini channels. You want to print all the MIDI into individual audio channels to take to an external studio to mix. If you bounce, unless you've got some MAJOR routing going on, you would have to bounce 1 track at a time. With freeze, you can select 1 MIDI channel from EACH VI (25 or 30) and freeze all at once. Saves a •••• load of time. Crashes DP half the time though when you do too many at once. :lol:
2*8-core 3.0 (16 gigs RAM), 2*dual 2.5 (8 gigs RAM), DP 7.24, WAVES 9, Lexicon plugs, SoundToys, all Spectrasonics, NI Komplete 9, Vienna Ensemble (extended), LASS, Evolve, Symphobia, etc, Cinesamples, Arturia.
User avatar
doodles
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Scotland / LA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:37 pm

Too bad that we can't freeze/bounce multi channels of all VIs to their respective tracks. UNless I'm missing something, unless you have that elaborate routing system in place, BTD on VI mixes the MIDI channels for that instantiation of the VI.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X.1 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16_____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20783
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby doodles » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:45 pm

by MIDI Life Crisis » 05 Mar 2013 12:37 am

Too bad that we can't freeze/bounce multi channels of all VIs to their respective tracks. UNless I'm missing something, unless you have that elaborate routing system in place, BTD on VI mixes the MIDI channels for that instantiation of the VI.


i know. I keep meaning to start a thread to get people's input on best way to do it, as tracklaying for soundtracks takes forever. I WISH there was a way just to freeze all tracks selected at once, no matter how many MIDI channels going to each VI. There's obviously a reason why not, I just can't think. It would save literally days.
2*8-core 3.0 (16 gigs RAM), 2*dual 2.5 (8 gigs RAM), DP 7.24, WAVES 9, Lexicon plugs, SoundToys, all Spectrasonics, NI Komplete 9, Vienna Ensemble (extended), LASS, Evolve, Symphobia, etc, Cinesamples, Arturia.
User avatar
doodles
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Scotland / LA
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby zandurian » Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:23 pm

doodles wrote:
by MIDI Life Crisis » 05 Mar 2013 12:37 am

Too bad that we can't freeze/bounce multi channels of all VIs to their respective tracks. UNless I'm missing something, unless you have that elaborate routing system in place, BTD on VI mixes the MIDI channels for that instantiation of the VI.


i know. I keep meaning to start a thread to get people's input on best way to do it, as tracklaying for soundtracks takes forever. I WISH there was a way just to freeze all tracks selected at once, no matter how many MIDI channels going to each VI. There's obviously a reason why not, I just can't think. It would save literally days.

In the past I've taken all the vi tracks, multitrack drum VIs etc and and bussed them to real audio tracks, arm and hit record. Of course the problem comes in when you have one multi-timbral VI doing a bunch of stuff to stereo outs. With Mach 5 2 I just open multiple instances and keep it one instrument per instance but that's a bit nuts.

I don't know what the freeze/bounce capabilities of Mach 5 v3 are because I haven't even installed it yet.
----------------------------------
Mac Pro 4,1 (early 2009) 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 12 gigs RAM, OS 10.8.3, DP8.04, UAD2e, Superior drummer 2, Mach 5-2,Mach 5-3, Ivory, PCIe 424, BL modded 24i/o, MIDI express XT, unisyn, Melodyne 2.1.0, Izotope RX2
zandurian
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: san antonio TX
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Freezing Audio tracks seems a very slow process...

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:50 pm

On a multi-core machine each instance of a VI gets a difference core so as MagicD says: spread the wealth! One instrument per instance is good!
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X.1 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16_____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20783
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Next

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


Who is online

In total there are 5 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests

Login Form