It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 6:47 am
   
Text Size

DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby James Steele » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:47 pm

dix wrote:…PM me if you need the old version of Reverse, or m'be James can put it on a server.


Email me the older one at jamesATjamessteele(D0T)com and I'll put it online. I imagine if you rename the one that works in DP7 and leave the one that works in DP8 also in the Plug Ins folder, you should be covered both ways.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.9.4, ATI 5770, DP 8.07, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 15017
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby dix » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:56 pm

James Steele wrote:
dix wrote:…PM me if you need the old version of Reverse, or m'be James can put it on a server.


Email me the older one at jamesATjamessteele(D0T)com and I'll put it online. I imagine if you rename the one that works in DP7 and leave the one that works in DP8 also in the Plug Ins folder, you should be covered both ways.
Will do. Thanks!

Renaming might work, but I find just keeping alt sets of assets for 8 and 7 in separate folders on the Desktop a little simpler.
3ghz 8-core (2008), 10.6.8, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS, DP (latest version), 2408mk3, Apogee Ensemble, UAD-2 Solo, UAD-1::: 15-inch MBP (early 2011) 10.6.8, 4GB, Mbox2 Mini
User avatar
dix
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby dix » Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:17 pm

I just noticed, no, the plugin's name has to be "Reverse.bundle" apparently. However, putting one of the Reverse plugins in a sub-folder (I have one called DP8 Plugins) does allow you to have both version available in either version of DP.
3ghz 8-core (2008), 10.6.8, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS, DP (latest version), 2408mk3, Apogee Ensemble, UAD-2 Solo, UAD-1::: 15-inch MBP (early 2011) 10.6.8, 4GB, Mbox2 Mini
User avatar
dix
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby rmills007 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:12 pm

Got my Export settings and my Reverb plug-in back in v7.24, with DP8 still installed. Thanks for the info everyone! :dance:
MacPro(2,1) OSX 10.7.5 ~ 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ~ 16GB RAM. Apogee Ensemble, Kontakt Komplete 8 Ultimate, XLN Addictive Drums, EWQL CCC, LASS, Omnisphere, Stylus, Waves Gold, UAD-2 Qaud, bla bla bla . . .
User avatar
rmills007
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:48 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in? Shortcut?

Postby ahimmel » Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:55 pm

Am I the only one that wishes there was a shortcut for this plugin? I have looked at the shortcut list to see if I could create one but couldn't find it. When I work on a project that I use a lot of reverse sounds I hate going through the menus. Has anyone found a way around this?
Alex
Mexico City
ahimmel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:23 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:57 pm

Quickeys?
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20282
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in? Shortcut?

Postby Dan Worley » Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:37 pm

ahimmel wrote:Am I the only one that wishes there was a shortcut for this plugin? I have looked at the shortcut list to see if I could create one but couldn't find it. When I work on a project that I use a lot of reverse sounds I hate going through the menus. Has anyone found a way around this?


Go to Commands and set "Apply Plug-in" to Option P (or whatever).

Go to the Effects Manager and create a new Folder and Category called Reverse. Put the Reverse plug-in in the category and the category in the folder. Move the folder up near the top so it's easy to find and leave the folder open so the Reverse category is always showing.

Now when you select a soundbite and hit Option P, the Reverse plug-in is right there ready for you. The Effects Manager remembers which plug-in you used last and keeps the category highlighted so you can select the plug-in again easily.

Alternatively, you can right-click on the soundbite and choose Apply Plug-in instead of using the key command. Just another way of getting there.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.4 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2679
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby ahimmel » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:18 am

Can't find the apply plug-in command, is this a DP8 new feature?
Alex
Mexico City
ahimmel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:23 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby Dan Worley » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:16 am

ahimmel wrote:Can't find the apply plug-in command, is this a DP8 new feature?


Yes.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.4 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2679
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby ahimmel » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:19 am

Thanks for the help! looking forward to switching to DP8
Alex
Mexico City
ahimmel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:23 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby Dan Worley » Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:13 pm

ahimmel wrote:Thanks for the help! looking forward to switching to DP8


Alex,

In case you don't know. In DP7, you can right-click on a soundbite and select Audio Plug-in from the pop-up menu and select Reverse from there. That might be a few less moves than what you're doing now.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.4 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2679
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby nightwatch » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:18 am

rmills007 wrote:Got my Export settings and my Reverb plug-in back in v7.24, with DP8 still installed. Thanks for the info everyone! :dance:


How did you get Reverse to work in DP7, and DP8? I have both installed. I've tried several things but have not got DP7 to see Reverse in the Audio Plug-ins menu. I put a sub folder with the DP7 reverse and it still doesn't see it.

If you could briefly tell me what you did to get Reverse back in DP7, I'd appreciate it.
DP 8.05 64-bit, OSX 10.9.1, MacPro (2008) 8-core 3GHz, 32GB RAM, VE Pro 5, MIR, Logic 9 (slaved), Peak, Waves 9, FabFilter, Slate Digital, Kontakt 5, iLok, Steinberg key.... and ... LASS, CS2, CineBrass and CinePerc, WIVI Winds and Brass Pro Player, Ivory American D, Albion, Soniccouture, PianoTEQ, Iris, Alchemy, MetaSynth, Aurturia V Collection, Redwirez, QL Spaces, MOTU 896HD w/Black Lion mod, Vintech and Avedis hybrid pres, Bogner guitar amps, Eden bass amps, mics, mics, mics, and more...
User avatar
nightwatch
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:01 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby dix » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:28 am

nightwatch wrote:
rmills007 wrote:Got my Export settings and my Reverse plug-in back in v7.24, with DP8 still installed. Thanks for the info everyone! :dance:


How did you get Reverse to work in DP7, and DP8? I have both installed. I've tried several things but have not got DP7 to see Reverse in the Audio Plug-ins menu. I put a sub folder with the DP7 reverse and it still doesn't see it.

If you could briefly tell me what you did to get Reverse back in DP7, I'd appreciate it.
Assuming you kept the Reverse plugin from 7, try putting the one from 8 in a subfolder and keeping the version that came with DP7 on the top level. That's how I have it. I haven't tried it the other way around like you did.
3ghz 8-core (2008), 10.6.8, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS, DP (latest version), 2408mk3, Apogee Ensemble, UAD-2 Solo, UAD-1::: 15-inch MBP (early 2011) 10.6.8, 4GB, Mbox2 Mini
User avatar
dix
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP8 : No more Reverse plug-in?

Postby rmills007 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:24 pm

dix wrote:
nightwatch wrote:
rmills007 wrote:Got my Export settings and my Reverse plug-in back in v7.24, with DP8 still installed. Thanks for the info everyone! :dance:


How did you get Reverse to work in DP7, and DP8? I have both installed. I've tried several things but have not got DP7 to see Reverse in the Audio Plug-ins menu. I put a sub folder with the DP7 reverse and it still doesn't see it.

If you could briefly tell me what you did to get Reverse back in DP7, I'd appreciate it.
Assuming you kept the Reverse plugin from 7, try putting the one from 8 in a subfolder and keeping the version that came with DP7 on the top level. That's how I have it. I haven't tried it the other way around like you did.


Yes, that's what I did. I created a new folder in my Library/Audio/Plug-ins folder called "DP8_Reverse". I put Revers.bundle from the DP8 install in there. I then took Reverse.bundle from v7.24 from a Time Machine archive and put that in the MAS folder. For whatever reason, v7.24 sees that one.

Did similar with the Export files. I made a folder called "MOTU Audio Export V8" in Plug-Ins directory. Then replaced the MOTU Audio Export folder with an old archive from Time Machine. This brought my Export settings back to v7.24.
MacPro(2,1) OSX 10.7.5 ~ 2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ~ 16GB RAM. Apogee Ensemble, Kontakt Komplete 8 Ultimate, XLN Addictive Drums, EWQL CCC, LASS, Omnisphere, Stylus, Waves Gold, UAD-2 Qaud, bla bla bla . . .
User avatar
rmills007
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:48 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Previous

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Login Form