It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:20 am
   
Text Size

Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby FMiguelez » Mon May 21, 2012 10:45 am

Hey, Tobor.
Is the OS account where you normally use DP an Administrator account? It's a good idea to have full privileges in your working environment.

You say that the "Apply to Enclosed Items" option is grayed out. I assume you clicked on the little lock icon at the bottom so it opens (unlocks), correct? Is it still unavailable with the lock opened? It should let you apply it, but if it doesn't perhaps that points to a deeper OS permissions issue. That would be rare, though.

Another thing you can try is to go up to the very root folder of your audio drive (where ever you keep your DP audio files). You can try it from there.
This applies for both, your source Audio Folders and your target Audio Folder as well.

Also, if you are using a separate HD for your DP projects, you can make that HD ignore ownership. If you open that HD's Info window (from the HD icon), you should see this option at the bottom of that window. Click on it to set it like that. Afterwards, make sure the permissions are set correctly and try the Apply to Enclosed Items again from there. The idea is to make the permissions and ownership readily available and unrestricted.

Try it and let us know if that did the trick.

(You DO have a recent backup of that drive, yes?)
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6566
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Mon May 21, 2012 12:15 pm

FMiguelez wrote:Hey, Tobor.
Is the OS account where you normally use DP an Administrator account? It's a good idea to have full privileges in your working environment.

You say that the "Apply to Enclosed Items" option is grayed out. I assume you clicked on the little lock icon at the bottom so it opens (unlocks), correct? Is it still unavailable with the lock opened? It should let you apply it, but if it doesn't perhaps that points to a deeper OS permissions issue. That would be rare, though.

Another thing you can try is to go up to the very root folder of your audio drive (where ever you keep your DP audio files). You can try it from there.
This applies for both, your source Audio Folders and your target Audio Folder as well.

Also, if you are using a separate HD for your DP projects, you can make that HD ignore ownership. If you open that HD's Info window (from the HD icon), you should see this option at the bottom of that window. Click on it to set it like that. Afterwards, make sure the permissions are set correctly and try the Apply to Enclosed Items again from there. The idea is to make the permissions and ownership readily available and unrestricted.

Try it and let us know if that did the trick.

(You DO have a recent backup of that drive, yes?)


Hi FM,

Really appreciate your efforts. I'm finding my way around things I never noticed (or had to) before.

I've been able to unlock the folder (where all my DP files are located) and was then able to 'apply to enclosed items'. I then checked and noticed that the entire drive already was checked with 'ignore ownership on this volume'.

So... essentially I think I'm good with everything you mentioned above. But.... still grayed out.

Meanwhile I filled out a TechLink at MOTU just in case they can suggest something.

The good news is everything is playing back correctly. The Soundbites window shows all the operable soundbites and can play them, it just can't 'pass them on'.

A conundrum inside of a riddle. All told I'd rather be playing music. One of those 'techie' days.....

Tobor
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Mon May 21, 2012 1:10 pm

Update.

I'm now able to 'duplicate' (checked box!) on some projects, not on others. Of those that are resisting, one project is fairly old (but with some more recently imported audio), and another is very recent (but with its audio file in an unrelated project).
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 655
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Previous

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form