It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 8:47 pm
   
Text Size

Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Fri May 18, 2012 4:16 pm

This has been driving me crazy. I've got a few sequences where the soundbites are in a completely different folder. I don't want to lose track of them should I delete the unrelated sequence they're in.

I've wanted to do a 'save as' and 'duplicate audio and copy samples to project' so that everything will be tidy in one project folder. But the checkbox is grayed out and won't let me copy the .wav files, it only copies the sequence data.

On occasion, on some projects, I'm able to check the box and everything copies as it should. But should I uncheck the box again for subsequent sequences in the file (to avoid massive duplication and another project folder), I can't seem to get it back in 'copy audio' mode on the current or any other project.

It seems like some kind of bug but maybe I'm just doing something wrong..... any ideas?

Tobor
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby mikehalloran » Fri May 18, 2012 4:30 pm

It may be related to the problem that I am having - or not.

I would just duplicate the entire project folder in the Finder and rename it so that there is no confusion.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.9.4
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.06 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, mda, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicStudio 9.1.8, LogicPro X 10.0.6 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 11.2
Test machine: G4-733: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 4084
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Fri May 18, 2012 6:34 pm

mikehalloran wrote:It may be related to the problem that I am having - or not.

I would just duplicate the entire project folder in the Finder and rename it so that there is no confusion.


Thanks Mike. Yes, I could do that, but my problem is that the relevant soundbites are NOT in my project folder- they're in another sequence's folder.

In theory (and DP's manual), I could/should be able to select 'copy audio and duplicate soundbites' (sic) and THEN I would have all relevant soundbites in my new project folder.
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Phil O » Sat May 19, 2012 1:39 pm

Just thinking out loud here, Tobor. In the save dialog box, are you sure the format is Digital Performer Project Document? The "duplicate audio" box is greyed out for some of the other formats. What if you change it to another format and then change it back? :?

I wonder if it's greyed out because the project audio folder is empty. :? (some experimentation required here - I'll get back to you if I uncover anything)

Could it be a permissions problem. :?

Like I said, just thinkin' out loud.
DP 8.06, Mac Pro 2.66 quad (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo, (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.9.4, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a whole truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 5337
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Phil O » Sat May 19, 2012 1:47 pm

Phil O wrote:I wonder if it's greyed out because the project audio folder is empty. :? (some experimentation required here - I'll get back to you if I uncover anything)
Nope, just tried it. I created a project and set the take folder to another drive, then recorded a few seconds. The audio ends up in the remote take folder and the project audio folder is empty, but the "duplicate audio" box is still active in the save as dialog box and audio copies correctly to a new file when checked. :? It's gotta be something else.

Phil
DP 8.06, Mac Pro 2.66 quad (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo, (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.9.4, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a whole truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 5337
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat May 19, 2012 5:04 pm

You might make an alias of the Audio folder with the soundbites and place it in the project folder in question. Alternately, you might also place a copy of the project file in the folder with the soundbites and try to SAVE AS.

I ALWAYS try to keep the soundbites associated with a project in the projects audio folder. If storage is an issue, then get more storage. It's not that expensive these days. If you have a different reason for not keeping the audio with the project, please let me/us know as there may be other alternatives one of us might have a solution for.

Or not. :unicorn:
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20453
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Sat May 19, 2012 5:30 pm

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:You might make an alias of the Audio folder with the soundbites and place it in the project folder in question. Alternately, you might also place a copy of the project file in the folder with the soundbites and try to SAVE AS.

I ALWAYS try to keep the soundbites associated with a project in the projects audio folder. If storage is an issue, then get more storage. It's not that expensive these days. If you have a different reason for not keeping the audio with the project, please let me/us know as there may be other alternatives one of us might have a solution for.

Or not. :unicorn:


Thanks for the suggestions and concern, MLC and Phil.

Storage space isn't the issue. And keeping all the soundbites in the proper projects audio folder is what I'm TRYING to do, hence my frustration. I often forget to save a song into a new project before I start noodling on something new in my current project, hence I've got stray soundbites in far flung folders at times.

Phil, I also noticed the 'save as DP file option' and did switch back and forth, but it didn't seem to make a difference.

I'm kind of on the run so will have to wait to try this again. I've love to get to the bottom of it. DP has been working so seamlessly lately that any little glitch has me thinking that I must be overlooking something.

Thanks again,

Tobor
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat May 19, 2012 6:11 pm

Then just copy the folder to the project folder. Next...
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20453
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Phil O » Sun May 20, 2012 6:43 am

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:Then just copy the folder to the project folder. Next...
Agreed. That's probably the best work-around, but it would still be nice to know why the "duplicate audio and copy shared samples to project" button is greyed out. That will come back to haunt him if he doesn't get it fixed.

Phil
DP 8.06, Mac Pro 2.66 quad (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo, (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.9.4, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a whole truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 5337
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby mikehalloran » Sun May 20, 2012 7:43 am

See what my problem was and how I fixed it after support threw in the towel. It may or may not apply.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=49338
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.9.4
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.06 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, mda, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicStudio 9.1.8, LogicPro X 10.0.6 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 11.2
Test machine: G4-733: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 4084
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Sun May 20, 2012 9:11 am

Phil O wrote:
MIDI Life Crisis wrote:Then just copy the folder to the project folder. Next...
Agreed. That's probably the best work-around, but it would still be nice to know why the "duplicate audio and copy shared samples to project" button is greyed out. That will come back to haunt him if he doesn't get it fixed.

Phil


And if I copy the folder to the project folder, would I have to drag the soundbites into the project again from there?

It would seem that the sequence would still look for the files in the old location, although if it couldn't find them you could manually redirect to the (desired) proper folder....

Either way, 'working as it should' would be preferred.

Thanks again for the help. Although I've used DP from version 2, I've only been using audio and soundbites in DP for a couple years, so there's still much I don't know about their manipulation. I always tread gingerly lest I accidentally lose a coveted soundbite into the ether or mess with it destructively so that I can't get it back (although I do backup often).

Tobor
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby FMiguelez » Sun May 20, 2012 7:51 pm

Have you made sure the read/write permissions are properly set in the source and target audio folders? Just to be sure, open both folders' Information window and use the "Apply to enclosed items". One rouge audio file would be enough to stop you from doing this the way you want.

I've done what you want in the past without issues. DP should be able to locate all the soundfiles and collect them all in your location of choice with the Save As and Duplicate audio command :?
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6498
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby zaratero » Mon May 21, 2012 3:25 am

What if you create a new sequence, then load , then save a copy as?
http://www.cueaudio.org
Macpro 3.1 Octocore-16Gb RAM-OSX10.8 - DP 7.24
Macbook pro Core2Duo-4Gb RAM-OSX10.6 - DP 7.24
User avatar
zaratero
 
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:50 pm
Location: Gasteiz
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby mikehalloran » Mon May 21, 2012 7:28 am

FMiguelez wrote:Have you made sure the read/write permissions are properly set in the source and target audio folders? Just to be sure, open both folders' Information window and use the "Apply to enclosed items". One rouge audio file would be enough to stop you from doing this the way you want.
I've done what you want in the past without issues. DP should be able to locate all the soundfiles and collect them all in your location of choice with the Save As and Duplicate audio command :?

That turned out to be the solution to my issue
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.9.4
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.06 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, mda, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicStudio 9.1.8, LogicPro X 10.0.6 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 11.2
Test machine: G4-733: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 4084
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Problem Duplicating Audio and Copying Samples to Project

Postby Tobor » Mon May 21, 2012 10:20 am

mikehalloran wrote:
FMiguelez wrote:Have you made sure the read/write permissions are properly set in the source and target audio folders? Just to be sure, open both folders' Information window and use the "Apply to enclosed items". One rouge audio file would be enough to stop you from doing this the way you want.
I've done what you want in the past without issues. DP should be able to locate all the soundfiles and collect them all in your location of choice with the Save As and Duplicate audio command :?

That turned out to be the solution to my issue


Thanks much, guys.

I found that some of my folders were indeed 'read only' for a couple users, although my permissions were for read and write. In any case, I selected the whole DP folder on my audio drive and changed all the 'read only's to 'read and write'. It looks now like every folder I select has 'read and write' for everyone.

Repaired permissions.

But still.... no luck copying the audio to a new project. The check box still grays out.

I also note that in the 'Get Info' window, although the permissions are now 'read and write' for all users in the selected folders, the 'Apply to enclosed items' in the submenu is grayed out as well.

I just changed the permissions on the DP 7.24 icon in the app folder as well, still no happy happy.

I think I'm close to a solution thanks to your suggestions, it definitely seems to be a OS issue rather than a DP bug, but I'm still scratching my head.

Tobor
iMac 2.7 i5, DP 8.07/7.24, 10.9.4, 828, MTPAV, Toontrack, Spectrasonics, BFD3, Drumcore, Reason 6.5, Live 9, Logic X, Miroslav, Waves, Kronos X, MOXF 6, Axiom 49.
User avatar
Tobor
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Colorado
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Next

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

Login Form